Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 18-05-2005 , 02:39 PM
Stephen's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 249

Wacom pen tablet

I use a wacom tablet with maya now and have all 3 buttons asigned for left middle and right mouse buttons.
Does any else use a pen and how have you got it set?


It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
# 2 11-06-2007 , 06:28 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
I'm trying to use my wacom tablet but I don't have a button assigned as 'right' so I can't track my scenes

HELP! I don't know how to do this!

# 3 11-06-2007 , 08:40 AM
Stephen's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 249

wacom

hi dude all you need to do is open the wacom control panel and set the bottom finger switch to "middle mouse click" in the drop down list and the top button to "right click" from the drop down list.

good luck


It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
# 4 11-06-2007 , 08:45 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
god thanks! that was so easy I didn't even know the preferences were there!

this has made such a difference!

keep in touch with any tips + I will too - haven't ben able to find a single maya / tablet user on another forum I post on!!

# 5 11-06-2007 , 08:59 AM
Stephen's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 249
Well I have been using the pen for 8 years or so now and I cant draw with a block, I mean mouse it just doesn't feel natural.
It will feel odd to start with but you must stick to it and you will not go back. I think the only app I use where I need to use the brick I mean mouse is DAZ Studio, the pen seems too sensitive for it. haven't found a way to change it yet.


It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
# 6 11-06-2007 , 09:03 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
I've been using it with 2D for a while and now I get very frustrated with a mouse, even for DTP at work!

overly used to it already - it's just the controls really, as this is my first time using maya too I don't have to worry about the transition!

I'm teaching myself and it's slow going but there you go!

# 7 13-06-2007 , 11:23 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Ived got a Tablet myself, though ived never ever tried or ever think to try it in maya :p

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads