SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lighting & Rendering, Dynamics & Effects, Texturing / Mental Ray / texture not rendering (HDRI mental ray)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-12-2005, 06:14 PM   #1
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default texture not rendering (HDRI mental ray)

Hello

I've (only) just started looking at HDRI and mental ray and have assigned a blinn surface to the cello model shown. I've added a test texture to the shader and when I render it with mental ray the suface just comes back like the default with no texture showing.
Is there a (basic) setting I've missed or have I applied the texture wrong or something? All the mental ray options are on default.

Here it is in the viewport on the left and the render on the right:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	notexture.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	37.2 KB
ID:	25803  
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 07:20 PM   #2
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

u have pressed 6 right?
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2005, 11:07 PM   #3
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Please post your blinn and Mental Ray settings. I Think your problem is that you don't have Final Gather turned on.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2005, 07:17 AM   #4
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah ha, I figured it out on the train this morning (more by luck )
The ambient setting for the blinn was right at the bottom and by moving it up a little it brought out the texturing on a quick render.
Dont know whether this is the real reason why it didnt show but its working now

Thanks for the suggestions

p.s, here's the tutorial I was going though (skip straight down to step 4). It seems good as it is fairly basic:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Render_..._Model_in_Maya
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net

Last edited by t1ck135 : 21-12-2005 at 07:46 AM.
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2005, 01:15 PM   #5
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

You should not have to boost your ambient channel for your texture to show. My ambient is at zero and my textures show up. Please post your blinn and mental ray settings.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2005, 07:31 PM   #6
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cheers THX
I dont remember using anything to do with a final gather setting. I'll get the settings and post them once I've figured out a texture problem that is occuring (texture forum this time
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2005, 07:04 PM   #7
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just for reference for anyone who gets the same problem, as THX1138 says, turn on final gather and it should show the textures
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 02:47 PM   #8
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the same problem and my FG settings are on. I tried raising ambient like tick said and still does not work.

Anybody know how to solve this problem?
blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 11:20 PM   #9
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Raising the levels of your ambient channel will not have any effect on your textures the way your wanting them to work. Check to see how you have your textures plugged into your materials.

Are you using Mental Ray nodes or Maya nodes? What kind of lighting setup are you using? Are you using IBL?
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 03:04 AM   #10
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using IBL, nodes? I'll say I'm rendering as MR with maya materials, not MR materials.
blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 10:44 AM   #11
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Just curious, are you using a texture or a image file for your IBL?
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 03:17 AM   #12
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using texture on object with different IBL image.
blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 01:15 PM   #13
blitzmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I posted a thread about this, please check it..I still can't solve it.
blitzmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.