Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 16-04-2006 , 04:04 AM
Subscriber

takeoff

I have started this course here in Adelaide, had to go to TAFE because my uni has no digital topics in the area I do which is 'film' (?) yes, I dream of one day being a famous film maker?? Actually I think it would be better to do a DipEd.

anyway, the first week was to make a rocket on a set. So I went a little further because I have been doing this for 12 months and thought well just did, some more to it, like animate it and use the spot light for the exhaust (should have put a solid fractal in it but...) and used a point light as the explosion at take off, the thing is there's no shadows or only some things have shadows? Is this because of the way I have set my lights. One high above, one near the base of the tower...

Attached Thumbnails

take it easy and life will be easy
# 2 16-04-2006 , 06:30 PM
Not sure if this will help as I haven't really done much lighting, but
I think you need to select a light and go to the attribute editor and check 'use shadows'. Jramauri was kind enough to point this out to me in an earlier project.

# 3 16-04-2006 , 11:23 PM
Subscriber