SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Need help with hardening edges
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-08-2006, 01:15 AM   #1
MrR
Subscriber
 
MrR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need help with hardening edges

Hi all

Working on my current project (a 1966 Corvette), I'm starting to split panels out and harden up the edges. I'm hitting and issue where a smooth pulls a vertex in such a way that it messes up the mesh:

PreSmooth ...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	presmooth.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	30262  
MrR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 01:16 AM   #2
MrR
Subscriber
 
MrR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

PostSmooth ...

Note the messy corner in the red circle. The vertex near the yellow x is too far left.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	postsmooth.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	30263  
MrR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 01:18 AM   #3
MrR
Subscriber
 
MrR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

PostSmoothCloseUp ...

I'd like to avoid subdividing the surrounding mesh as it has undesirable follow on effects to the rest of the model.

Any ideas folks?

Ta

MrR
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	postsmoothcloseup.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	30264  
MrR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 02:22 AM   #4
3danimationmaya
Registered User
 
3danimationmaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi .I had the same problem. you take very hard way. the easy way convert your object to sub-D and than there work on edges with patial crease edges/
convert the object to sub-d
select the edge that you want(hard edge)
in the menu sub-d click on prtial crease edge 1 or 2(more harder)
or full crease (that is very hard edge like table or knife edge)

just try it is very easy and simple if you not happy with edge you can uncrease edge in the menu(undo)

after you finished you can convert the sub-d to oplygon again. but when you convert the sub-d to poly you have to be carreful.need some changing in the option tesselation method: vertice and the level should be 1 or 2 that is the best way return to poly. but sub-d has great view in render. good luck
__________________
:bow:
3danimationmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 03:48 AM   #5
MrR
Subscriber
 
MrR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 3danimationmaya
hi .I had the same problem. you take very hard way. the easy way convert your object to sub-D and than there work on edges with patial crease edges/
convert the object to sub-d
select the edge that you want(hard edge)
in the menu sub-d click on prtial crease edge 1 or 2(more harder)
or full crease (that is very hard edge like table or knife edge)

just try it is very easy and simple if you not happy with edge you can uncrease edge in the menu(undo)

after you finished you can convert the sub-d to oplygon again. but when you convert the sub-d to poly you have to be carreful.need some changing in the option tesselation method: vertice and the level should be 1 or 2 that is the best way return to poly. but sub-d has great view in render. good luck
Thanks for that but I don't want to use sub-d's. The edge won't be as sharp as I can get it with nice close loops.
MrR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 11:45 PM   #6
prl907
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i see the problem you are getting . i agree with 3danimationmaya, that is the way i usally built my cars. first i block it out in poly and then convert to subdivisions. it works pretty well and when it is in the subdiv mode you can add creases to it. then from there you convert it back to poly with the options set on adaptive.
prl907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 11:51 PM   #7
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

you using Maya 7 or later?..
if so there is an option called Poly crease tool, which is very nice for a poly smooth object.. you can select teh edges on your base mesh, and increase or decrease the hardness of the edge...

If not, then i'd have to go along with the earlier suggestion
G
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.