SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / unusual polygon shading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2007, 03:33 AM   #1
DougFisher
Registered User
 
DougFisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default unusual polygon shading

When using polygons and I create say a 1mtr cube in default shading, the shading is regular in appearance on all 6 faces.

When I decrease the width of the polygon, say down to a standard 200mm, the 200mm edge becomes much darker than the balance of the cube.

IN a simple cube it is not too much of a problem, but i am modelling complete buildings and the result shading can be very offputting.

We have tried decreasing the hardware acceleration, which fixes the shading problem, but obviously degrades the performance of the hardware/computer and it becomes choppy, so this isnt a practical solution.

I am using an ATI Radeon 1550 series graphics card. For my computer specs, I have attached an Everest Report in text format.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Doug
Attached Files
File Type: txt everest report doug fisher.txt (3.6 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Doug Fisher
DougFisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 09:26 PM   #2
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You may have multiple edges overlapping causing a really dark shade on your object. You'll have to find the edges and move them from overlapping.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 04:39 AM   #3
DougFisher
Registered User
 
DougFisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for that however no overlaps just a single poly - I got further info on the problem - I take the model i create and transfer it to another computer in thje office and the problem has gone ..............so I'm guessing the graphics cards the cause.
__________________
Doug Fisher
DougFisher is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.