SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Can't select Border edge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2007, 07:19 AM   #1
Doug732
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry Can't select Border edge

I have been trying for several days to figure out how to select an entire border edge. After I select "edge" from my hot box and select my edge I hold (ctrl) right click to bring up the secondary hot box. This is where I double left click(to select the border edge). When I try to double click on the edge only the single edge is highlited in orange. For some reason the entire border does not highlight.

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong and can someone please suggest a solution.:headbang:
Doug732 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:22 AM   #2
Hex3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just offering input and a non quick solution but you can shift-select the borders manually.. i know kind of noobish but it works..
__________________
Hex3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 11:09 AM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

it may be that your faces aren't connected. try opening polygons>tool options and see if the keep faces together option is checked. if this isn't checked and you extruded, then the faces won't be connected and you can't select continous border edges. try selecting all the vertices and do merge vertex and try again.

also, post a picture - it just helps us see what's going on.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 09:21 AM   #4
Doug732
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I still need help

Thanks arran but this has not sovled my problem. I am still very confused. Thankyou anyway.
Doug732 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 12:11 PM   #5
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Maybe there's another edge directly on top of your selected edge?
Happened to me once when I attempted to extrude but forgot to pull out anything.

Check by selecting one edge and pull it aside.

Hope this narrows down you troubleshooting list.
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.