Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-12-2002, 03:53 PM   #1
MKess007
Registered User
 
MKess007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Tool Size Problem

Alright, heres my problem. whenever I use a tool such as translate, rotate, or scale the handles seem to get really long. Is there a way to turn it back to regular? Here's what I mean:
__________________
mahalo,

Myk

<a href="http://www.metic.net" target="_blank">www.metic.net</a><br />
MKess007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2002, 04:00 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,287
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Hit your minus key bud!!!
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2002, 04:49 PM   #3
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

On a related note, how can I keep the tool's positioning closer to the object? For example, sometimes I have to zoom way out to grab the tool manipulators because they're far away from the object I'm manipulating instead of being directly on the object itself.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2002, 05:48 PM   #4
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That sound like, that the pivot point is situated away from the center of the object in question.

You can "center pivot" from the Modify menu, if I remember correctly.

I have this function on the shelf, together with a button for centering the pivot point in the middle of the grid (which is useful for duplicating around the axis').
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2002, 05:56 PM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Excellent! Thanks for the tip!
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2002, 11:24 PM   #6
MKess007
Registered User
 
MKess007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Haha!! Thanks!
__________________
mahalo,

Myk

<a href="http://www.metic.net" target="_blank">www.metic.net</a><br />
MKess007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.