Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 20-07-2008 , 01:28 PM
should_be_shot's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lincoln, United Kingdom
Posts: 40

Moving Geometry Subdiv

Continuing on from my previous problem converting to Subdiv which was solved and the thread can be found here.

https://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=30303

Now all my geometry is sorted and my model was successfully converted to Subdiv I'm having problems moving geometry around. When I click on the UV's a message appears in the script editor saying '//Warning: Some items can't be moved in 3D view'. I expected to be able to move the geometry around with the move tool but the handles don't even appear. What am I doing wrong, have I got the wrong end of the stick when thinking this was possible?

Any pointers would be great


Ignorance is bliss
# 2 20-07-2008 , 01:38 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,520
Thats normal. You manipulate those in the UV Editor not 3D space. You were probably looking for vertices instead.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 3 20-07-2008 , 02:12 PM
publicFunction's Avatar
Senior Software Developer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
I would suggest going into Polygon mode and heading down the Verts side. This allows you to edit on Sub-D's using your original poly mesh, and you can edit this as you can normally using the normal poly tools.


Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
# 4 20-07-2008 , 02:35 PM
should_be_shot's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lincoln, United Kingdom
Posts: 40
UV editor how do you get to it, how is it different to editing the vertices as advised, I'm still such a noob


Ignorance is bliss
# 5 20-07-2008 , 02:36 PM
publicFunction's Avatar
Senior Software Developer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Go to Window > UV Editor...


Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
# 6 20-07-2008 , 02:54 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,520
UVs are there to be moved around in the UV Editor to create a flattened version of the model for texture painting, it doesn't edit the actual geometry at all.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads