SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Batch render problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-08-2008, 01:32 PM   #1
adevejian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Batch render problems

Hi,

I'm trying to render some water (I know it's not totally there yet) but I'm using Maya 2008 unlimited with realflow and am having problems with batch rendering as illustrated below. My material is a blinn housing two mental ray custom shaders: one dialectric material shader and the same dialectric in the photon shader slot. I also have a sphere around my water object mapped with an hdri and a dark grey ground plane with primary visibility off.

Right. Rendering a single frame with mental ray:


Wrong. Using batch render with same render settings creates this:


Not sure why this is happening as I'm not changing the render settings.

thanks for any help

Last edited by adevejian : 14-08-2008 at 01:35 PM.
adevejian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 03:07 AM   #2
Ajmooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are you modifying the render settings as far as what you need for a batch render? Because (and I'm assuming you're rendering multiple frames) you have to define from which frame-which frame you want to render, where to render to, et cetera, in the global render settings.

If you're not rendering multiple frames, then there's some use for batch render other than that which I have not yet discovered. (It's quite possible =p)
__________________
~I have no idea what I'm doing~
Ajmooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 04:28 AM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Re: Batch render problems

Quote:
Originally posted by adevejian
Hi,

I'm trying to render some water (I know it's not totally there yet) but I'm using Maya 2008 unlimited with realflow and am having problems with batch rendering as illustrated below. My material is a blinn housing two mental ray custom shaders: one dialectric material shader and the same dialectric in the photon shader slot. I also have a sphere around my water object mapped with an hdri and a dark grey ground plane with primary visibility off.

Right. Rendering a single frame with mental ray:


Wrong. Using batch render with same render settings creates this:


Not sure why this is happening as I'm not changing the render settings.

thanks for any help
Are you batch rendering with maya closed or open? I had a similar issue when rendering from the command line or by right clicking on the file. I think it may be that maya is not finding the textures so is rendering to dark/black (that's what happened to me).

I'm not sure what caused it though it may be related to file names (do you have any spaces in them?).

Sorry I can't help more.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 11:21 AM   #4
adevejian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not batch rendering from the command line, still don't know the syntax.. I'm on a Mac now so I'm thinking it's something like

maya -render mr [scene file] ?


I think you may be right gubar about not finding the hdri i have mapped to my sphere, but I've set the project to the correct dir and it works when I render a single image by the render button above the shelf. It's something screwy happening with batch rendering (need to render 600 frames).
adevejian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2008, 01:09 PM   #5
adevejian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe this helps?

I've been going through just about every render setting and when I unchecked
"Enable Default Light" it rendered incorrectly like the "Wrong" image above. But when I checked it, it rendered correctly. Maybe the maya batch render is unchecking or not recognizing this option somehow?
adevejian is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.