Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 25-09-2008 , 03:38 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245

Replace object with Maya 2008

Hi
I am working with Maya 2008 and i was wondering if there is a way to replace objects in the scene with different object fast. Basically i have around 120 triangles(Globe glass), they all the same objects, i want to replace the Glass with a different color Glass and texture that i made but i dont want to start placing 120 object again. If someone knows something say something.
- all the objects are the same shape and size,
- just want to replace all the 120 object with new object(the same size and same shape, it is basically copy one of the object) without moving the 120 object around,

I tried tool/script swapper(from highend3d) , It works, the script replace the new object with the target object , but the problem is after done it the objects move out of the position to 0 right in the middle of grid, like snap it to grid, it bit hard when you have globe round shape and the glasses moved around,

I need help in easy way

thanks

# 2 25-09-2008 , 03:43 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
here is the image,

Attached Thumbnails
# 3 25-09-2008 , 10:12 PM
Falott's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
the problem is, as far I understand this you need to have the pivots and orientation to be the same from both - original and replaced objects. because when you replace objA with objB you might want to point and orientconstraint the new pieces to the exact same point in space and with same orientation then the old pieces. so- if you detached all your pieces from a big original object this wont work, because you could center pivots but what about the orientation?

but you said the new stuff is basically just a copy of your old pieces - so why don´t you just assign a new shader? this would be much easier. and in case you have different UVs on the new stuff you could also transfer UVsets.

other than that I wrote a script once with the help of other folks. i think it was this script

https://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=23648


everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
# 4 26-09-2008 , 05:58 AM
NeoStrider's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
i'd say unless this is an animation where the new pieces move in to replace the old pieces i would instead put both objects in the same place and then simply animate the visibility of each object. voila it looks like the new one magically replaced the old one.


Accept no substitutions.
# 5 26-09-2008 , 11:09 AM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads