SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya 7 Final rig >2008
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2008, 10:16 PM   #1
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default Maya 7 Final rig >2008

Hi folks heres a test for someone if they still use Maya 7.
Why cant this Maya 7 rig be opened in Maya 2008 along with it's controls? The rig was created with Final Rig plugin but when you open it in 2008 the Control nodes dont show up!

Be interesting to see how to show these control nodes as they are in the outliner!

Cheers for trying
Attached Files
File Type: rar maya_7_fr_rig.rar (53.4 KB, 24 views)
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 10:37 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

under the options for open click the ignore version check box
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 10:49 PM   #3
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hi there thanks for your reply.
If you open the scene in M7 you will see all the control nodes for the charator but if you open it in 2008 these nodes are not visible (even though visibility is on).

Open the scene in 2008 and locate steve_LhandCtrlShape in the outliner and you will see there are no controls to select!

I tried your suggestion but this didnt work!

The output window shows,
Unrecognized node type 'circleControl'; preserving node information during this session.

But surely these are just wires or curves!

Cheers
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk

Last edited by Stephen : 10-10-2008 at 10:55 PM.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 11:11 PM   #4
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

in the command line it says it cant find a required plugin, final rig pro 2 by radiant square. This is definitely the problem, its nothing to do with the version of maya but the plugins you have installed on those versions that where used in the creation of this rig.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 11:20 PM   #5
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I thought as much.
I was hopping that I could open these files in new maya versions. We have about 40 characters all rigged with Final Rig which was a brilliant plugin for rigging but it is no longer supported thus keeping our work flow in Maya 7.

Is it possible for someone to re compile a plugin make it compatible with new versions?? Some smart dude out there could do it i'm sure.
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 11:51 PM   #6
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

dont know, its weird that the rigging software uses custom nodes. i use TSM2 and not had problems like this.

I dont know anything about coding plugins but see what people say.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.