Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 04-12-2008 , 08:52 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20

Applying textures to particles?

So I made some rain in my first try using particles, I was aware that particles don't show up in a render but I thought I could find a way to apply a material to the particles. But I can't... so I am just wondering if I can do this? thanks!
user added image

# 2 04-12-2008 , 11:59 AM
Chirone's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
you can apply textures and they will show up in renders

depends on the type of particle you're using
if it doesn't have (s/w) next to it it wont show up in hardware render, but if it doesn't then it wont show up in software render

they all show up in mental ray (why you'd use the other two is beyond me)

to apply a texture switch the particle render type to blobby, right click and assign a new material and do it like normal

alternatively you could just use instancing to make your particles look like a model you made




that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
# 3 04-12-2008 , 07:58 PM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300

Originally posted by Chirone
you can apply textures and they will show up in renders

depends on the type of particle you're using
if it doesn't have (s/w) next to it it wont show up in hardware render, but if it doesn't then it wont show up in software render

they all show up in mental ray (why you'd use the other two is beyond me)

The fisrt part dosent really make sense.

If they have S/W next to them then they can be rendered with maya software renderer, if thy dont then there only hardware renderable, though any particle will show up in hardware, and as you said they all show up in MR

As to why you would bother, well hardware is super fast and software is a lot faster than MR which is a big consideration when rendering for comping.


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads