SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Create Polygon Tool Issue (NEWB)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-07-2009, 10:34 PM   #1
TheShrike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Create Polygon Tool Issue (NEWB)

Ok this might be so easy but SOMEONE please help me it is driving me crazy.

In Maya how do I get the Create Polygon Tool to stop making the pink mask over the area of the object I am creating. If I am tracing from an image behind it I can't see the image if that damn pink mask keeps showing.

HELP!

-TheShrike
TheShrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 12:04 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

press return... but that seems too easy.

you should only really be making a square shape with the create polygon tool anyway.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 04:09 PM   #3
junkyBob
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 203
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

TheShrike,
With your image reference, did you create a camera image plane, or did you map your image reference onto a polygonal plane? Eventhough I never used the Create Polygon Tool, what I do, and since for some reason my computer cannot handle camera image planes, I would map my reference onto a polygonal plane, turn on texture view by pressing the 6 key, and then go into the Lambert 1 attributes and bump up the transparancy roughly to about 25%. This allows me to see the image reference as well as being able to see the polygonal mesh I am working.
However, if you are using a camera plane, and I am not too sure if this will work, but you may try viewing that viewport in X-Ray mode. You can activate this by going to the to viewport menu and choosing Shading->X-Ray.
junkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2009, 01:22 PM   #4
voodooHaze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My way is to simply click the mouse button but do not let go of the mouse button and just drag the new vertex until you can see your reference image again and then move the vertex to the required position and release the mouse button.

Not ideal and may or may not work all the time but that's the simple method I use.

Last edited by voodooHaze : 19-10-2009 at 01:29 PM.
voodooHaze is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.