SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / Cologne cathedral
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-12-2009, 09:14 PM   #1
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Cologne cathedral

Well, after few tries with various projects, i have decided to start this one and will focus only on it.

Well, not much to show yet, but here's a couple of shots:







Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 27-12-2009 at 09:19 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2009, 10:07 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

looks like a lot of detail!

care to show a wireframe shot?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2009, 10:15 PM   #3
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Sure:
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 11:19 PM   #4
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

a small progress (lighting is not exactly good, so you may not notice all the details):




Also, Polycount will be insane, i was worried mostly about memory, but with bsp2+MR proxy+instances, it seems to be rether gentle on ram usage so far.

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 02-01-2010 at 11:26 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:26 PM   #5
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Some more progress:




A bit more work and i'll call this part done for now.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 09:58 PM   #6
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

realy looking nice, how long have you spent on this project...................dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 09:59 PM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

dude that looks really awesome!
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 10:38 PM   #8
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

maybe a week, but not full days, because i played a lot with what exctly to use, MR proxy, or istance, or to use many small proxies, or few big ones....
Problem was, that there is gonna be 34 instances if this model. And since this one piece has 200k tris, that would be a lot.
So, it seems the best is to use low poly model of that, and apply proxy to it, and that duplicate instance of this low poly.
Result is, i teste over 2 milion polys, and it renders quite fast, while not using all that much memory.

tnx for comments!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:07 AM   #9
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Minor update:


Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 05:09 PM   #10
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

a very minor progress:


Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 10-01-2010 at 05:17 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 05:15 PM   #11
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Do you mind if i ask, what your system specs are?
and, how does maya respond in the view ports when you have 2 mil poly's on a scene as you stated?.
sluggish? or still pans and rotates smothly?

The model is looking great. Keep up the nice work
G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 05:23 PM   #12
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

system:
intel i7 920
geforce 275 gtx
6 gb ram
---

Well, thing is, in veiwport, i have like 100k triangles, so it runs smooth as it can get, though i have like 1/2 of model hidden (so i'd say total scene size is like 250k triangles).

What i am doing is, to make high poly model (what of those pillars have 200k+ polys), and then low poly, that still has like 10k polys. I then use mental ray proxy, so that in viewport, you see this low poly version, to avoid unnecesarry memory usage, and when i render it, mental ray replaced low poly with high poly. this way, viewport runs quit smooth, and render times are a bit faster.

So, in short, in viewport, i actually have 200k tris or less (depends how much that low poly has - it can be just cube as well, but i prefer to have model that is very similar to high poly), however, MR actually does render 2 milion polys (or so).

Also, i made only one MR proxy pillar, and then duplicate instance. This way, atlest from what i see, is best to achiv faster rendering time and reduce memory usage (together with proxy), while viewport runs quite smooth.


tnx for comment!

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 10-01-2010 at 05:27 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 05:43 PM   #13
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Indeed.. A good way to deal with the view port lag caused by high poly models.
Makes a lot more sense now, i was at first thinking you were viewing 2mil ploys in the view port. .....i was going to offer to pay you handsomly for a rig that woudl run maya with that many polys in view port and pan and tumble smothly, more or less not crash..LoL
Thank you for the input
G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 05:56 PM   #14
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

well, if you only have models in viewport, that is not such a problem, atleast on my rig, i can rotate camera without too much slowdown, but when it comes to actually working with 2 milion poly mesh, now that's a whole difrent story.
This model is very good because you can devide it in segments, and once that is done, you can load very low poly mesh instead of it in viewport, as it's not needed anymore, so viewport runs nicely.

If you still want to make corrections on that model, you can still edit it and again export mr proxy file, and maya will update all low poly meshes, that uses it.

This is first time i'm using it, but it does seems to work great so far.

tnx for your comment!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 05:13 PM   #15
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

A small progress(finally got some time to proceed on this one:
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.