SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / rotate pivot point?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-02-2010, 08:44 PM   #1
vincentccw
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rotate pivot point?

i know how to change the pivot point in maya but how do you rotate the pivot point?
vincentccw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2010, 10:00 AM   #2
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

You have very limited control. There are options but even though I have used maya from version 2.0 I only know of one way to get absolute control of ALL the axis (translate, rotate, and scale).

You have to use a parenting trick.

1. create an object say a pcube
2. orient it the way you want the axis
3. parent the target object to the pcube
4. with the target object selected freeze its transforms
5. make sure you are in object axis mode (hold the w-key and press the lmb a menu will pop up and check the object axis box or double click the move widget icon on the lhs of the gui and select object mode).

The targets object axis will now match the local axis - which is the parent cubes object axis. lol yeah I know wtf - object axis, local axis, world axis, axis of evil?!?! Maya's axis control system is really convoluted.

In any event you can now unparent the target object and delete the pcube and the target objects object axis will now be set to the way you oriented the pcube.

I have used Maya since version 2.0 and this is one of the primary reasons I am seriously considering switching to Modo. It can be frustrating and I can easily go on a 40 minute rant about Maya's woefully inadequate axis control system.

Note. From version 8.5 (I think) they did add a way to set the axis to a face, edge, or point. Hold down the w-key and then press the lmb, in the popup menu select axis, then "to face", "to edge" or "to point". The downside here (and again in my oppinion a serious design flaw in maya) is that it only affects the translate axis! If you pick rotate or more annoyingly scale the axis will pop back your axis setting usually object or world.

Hope this helps and good luck.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 15-02-2010 at 10:12 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2010, 01:11 PM   #3
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Go into component mode, and in the status line, there is a button with a question mark. Select that. You will now get an icon of the object's local axis. Select it, and then use the rotate tool. When you're done, press the question mark again, and then go back to object mode. In the rotate tool's options (double click on the tool), and make sure it's set to local.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2010, 04:32 PM   #4
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

omg! Thank you next!

I have been using maya for years and have asked this question dozens of times! I never knew you could manipulate the local axis directly! I guess that is because I have not done any rigging and I never realized the rigging manipulator was in fact the local axis!

Thanks again!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2010, 04:37 PM   #5
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

crap! I spoke too soon! That only effects the ROTATION axis. You are still borked if you want to change the SCALE axis!

ARGH! This is really annoying! So I am back to the 5 step process using the parenting trick if I want to change the ENTIRE local axis (translate, scale, and rotate).
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.