Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 23-01-2003 , 09:27 AM
Protheus's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471

Alias Mental Ray 1.5

On the Aliaswavefront web page you can download Mental Ray 1.5 for Maya 4.5... so Happy as I was with my Maya 4.5.. I downloaded the free version of MR 1.5.... Installed it.. started up Maya ... when to the plugin manager and loaded MR 1.5.... but 1.5 did not load user added image ... SO i download the installation guide and they wrote that you have to change the Maya_License from "Ulimited" to "Compleet"....

I have installed a Ulimited installation of Maya 4.5... SO my question is will MR 1.5 work on unlimited ?


The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
# 2 23-01-2003 , 03:06 PM
Emo's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
yes, of course it works for Unlimited...that's why its' called Unlimited user added image

anyway, I didnt change anything in my license so I dont know what you are talking about...

it should be working fine when you load it from teh plug in manager user added image

-Emo

# 3 25-01-2003 , 02:31 PM
tariqrf's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
i dont know... i could render with MR using render - > render using -> Mental Ray

but i dont get the mental ray menu as said in the manual???


:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
# 4 25-01-2003 , 03:11 PM
undseth's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Tariqrf:
You have to select MentalRay as your renderer from the "Render Mode", by selecting it under one of the menu items, then you can access the MentalRay Render Globals Menu. However this menu can also be accessed from the "renderview" as a menu item.


I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
# 5 25-01-2003 , 04:21 PM
tariqrf's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
can you go a bit indepth plz.... step by step if you could??


:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
# 6 26-01-2003 , 12:29 AM
Protheus's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
can you use MR 1.5 only for Maya 4.5, or can you use it also for 4.0 ?


The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
# 7 26-01-2003 , 12:58 AM
undseth's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Protheus:
The mental ray 1.5 is for Maya 4.5 only, as I recall.

taruqrf:
I think you want to get to mental rays final gather and global illumination menus.

These menus does not appear until you change one of the first options in the mentalray render globals (I assume you have found this menu by now).

One of the settings says "derive from maya", this you must change to either "production", which gives you new menus with some defaults that gives some "better" rendering "quality".

You would want to change it to say either "preview final gather" or "preview global illumination" or "preview caustics" (never used this last menu's defaults).

um, so there are the menus, ask away if you have some specific questions.


I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
# 8 27-01-2003 , 07:29 AM
Protheus's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Well I installed 1.5.... when I loaded the programe it gave me an error... I was so pissed of.. (little bit tired) I just uninstalled 4.5 and installed 4.0 over it again! Will try it maybe next month when I am back in the mood again to uninstall/install the software again ! :-)

Tnx for all the help


The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads