Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 24-07-2011 , 11:46 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12

Problem with "Create Polygon Tool"

Hello,

I begin with Maya 2012 and I've got a problem with modeling : I put my "images plane" (face and profile) on the scene, and when I click "Mesh - Create Polygon Tool", this little message appears : "Click to place each vertex....", it's ok, I can create polygons, BUT these polygons are lying on the scene (see image attached), and not on my drawing (image plane). Can you help me ?...
Thank you.

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 24-07-2011 , 12:43 PM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
I think you can only use this in front, side or top vue not prespective...........dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 3 24-07-2011 , 01:10 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12

Thank you

Ahh thank you ! It's ok now.

# 4 24-07-2011 , 03:27 PM
ctbram's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
This is why I am not a fan of interactive object creation. In the poly menu at the bottom is a check box if you uncheck it, interactive object creation will be turned off and a unit primitive will be created at the origin.

However, if you do chose to use it then it is easiest to create the shapes from one of the orthogonal views as dave suggested.


"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads