Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 21-06-2012 , 03:19 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17

Simple noob question.

Hello! I am new to Maya and had a very simple question.

I want to grab verts like this with the move tool
user added image

But for some reason they're grabbing like this.
user added image

I couldn't really find an answer for such an specific question. Thanks for the help!

# 2 21-06-2012 , 03:36 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
You're using a NURBS cylinder, which is really 3 surfaces; a top and bottom cap, and a side. What is shown in the first image is a polygon cylinder, which is one continuous piece of geometry.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 21-06-2012 , 04:22 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Oh man you're totally right...

Thanks for the help!

# 4 21-06-2012 , 04:55 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Also, do you know if I can edit hotkeys in Maya? If so, how do I get to the menu?

# 5 21-06-2012 , 05:01 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
No problem.

Window>Settings/Preferences>Hotkey Editor.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads