Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 15-10-2012 , 11:37 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 112

Outliner and grouping question.

When I open the outliner and try to group all four and name them do I combine the mesh first so I get all four at once? I need each tire and rim and then a group of all four. Or, do I select all four and then group them? But then I get all four seperate tires in my outliner..lol. I'm highly confused here..lol.

1 group of all four
and each indvidual tire and rim in my outliner is what I'm trying to do. I load my four tires and name each one in the outliner then do I combine mesh four a group of all four or just select all of them and name them?

# 2 16-10-2012 , 12:03 AM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Yeah, that's confusing. Here's what I would do. Don't combine meshes.

Make a group with one tire and one rim. Call it wheel. Duplicate the wheel group three times for a total of four groups (four wheels). Group the four wheels together and call it wheels. So you have one node at the top, four below it, and two each below those four. That should give you a clean hierarchy.

# 3 16-10-2012 , 01:10 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 112
Obviously I'm missing something. I did what you said but once I have all four rims/tires duplicated and named, you say group them. Does this mean a bounding box around all four and I can make another node from that? When I select all four after naming them and making the nodes all it does is select all four nodes in my outliner and I can't make a seperate group of all four.

Attached Thumbnails
# 4 16-10-2012 , 01:42 AM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
In the outliner, shift-select all four groups and then Ctrl+g... should work.

# 5 16-10-2012 , 12:02 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
Why not group all the rims in one group, then all the tires in another then group both under one parent node? This way, when you're shading, selecting geometry that should be using the same materials are less of a hassle.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 6 16-10-2012 , 06:13 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 112

Why not group all the rims in one group, then all the tires in another then group both under one parent node? This way, when you're shading, selecting geometry that should be using the same materials are less of a hassle.

That way works too. Thanks.

# 7 16-10-2012 , 11:59 PM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
I was thinking about this on the bus... yeah I have a life. This grouping would make shading easier, but I think rigging and animation would be more straightforward with each wheel as a group. All depends on what the ultimate goal is. It's also not too hard to overcome the shortcomings of either.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads