Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 30-03-2013 , 02:53 PM
Dushyant's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: On Earth
Posts: 168

Maya Viewport is running slow.

Hello everyone,

Currently I am working on my personal project and using Autodesk Maya 2013-64bit.
my viewport is running slow when i move my perspective view its take 2 sec to move and zoom-in and zoom-out.

I am using some plants (cornfield) in maya and i make a stroke then use instance option from duplicate special but its still running slow. I want to animate the grass with paintfx turbulence.

Here is image of maya viewport
user added image



here are my System configurations:-

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
System Manufacturer INTEL_
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 530 @ 2.93GHz, 2926 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Intel Corp. TCIBX10H.86A.0027.2009.1119.1517, 11/19/2009
SMBIOS Version 2.6
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7600.16385"
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 7.86 GB
Available Physical Memory 3.98 GB
Total Virtual Memory 15.7 GB
Available Virtual Memory 11.2 GB
Page File Space 7.86 GB.
Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics
Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics (Core i3)
DAC type: Internal
Display Memory: 1696 MB
Dedicated Memory: 64 MB
Shared Memory: 1632 MB
Current Mode: 1600 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)

can't figure out what the problem is...user added image

Help needed

thanks
dushyant


Last edited by Dushyant; 30-03-2013 at 06:17 PM.
# 2 30-03-2013 , 03:46 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Turn down the stroke quality.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 30-03-2013 , 06:22 PM
ctbram's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,998
Well you are also running on the i3's integrated GPU with no dedicated graphics memory which might be fine for browsing web pages or using word but not so much for running Maya.

Maya really requires a dedicated graphics card.


"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram; 30-03-2013 at 06:44 PM.
# 4 30-03-2013 , 07:16 PM
Dushyant's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: On Earth
Posts: 168

Turn down the stroke quality.

Thank you sir..user added image this looks a great solution but I want to convert my paintfx to polygon and this is not working when on polygon mesh..user added image

Attached Thumbnails
# 5 30-03-2013 , 07:21 PM
Dushyant's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: On Earth
Posts: 168

Well you are also running on the i3's integrated GPU with no dedicated graphics memory which might be fine for browsing web pages or using word but not so much for running Maya.

Maya really requires a dedicated graphics card.

Yes I want to purchase a graphic card. does this work fine with it 'evga geforce gtx 560 superclocked 2048 mb'. I don't have a big budget right-now. As I want it to work good with both Maya and Mari. I haven't use mari yet just because of Graphic problem..user added image

any other suggestions would be appreciated.


-dushyant

# 6 30-03-2013 , 07:27 PM
ctbram's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,998
The GTX 500 series should work out for you. Many on the site (except me unfortunately) are using the geforce cards very successfully.

I apologize for sounded so sarcastic but it's inevitable that anyone trying to run a program like Maya on the native intel HD GPU will at some point have performance issues.


"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram; 30-03-2013 at 07:31 PM.
# 7 05-04-2013 , 06:32 PM
Dushyant's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: On Earth
Posts: 168

The GTX 500 series should work out for you. Many on the site (except me unfortunately) are using the geforce cards very successfully.

I apologize for sounded so sarcastic but it's inevitable that anyone trying to run a program like Maya on the native intel HD GPU will at some point have performance issues.


yes and that's why I missing a good tool like Mari..user added image For now I have solved the issue using an spPaint3d script found on creative crash its work like a charm for instance still don't know why maya Duplicate special(instances) was slowing my viewport but now its working better will post the render soon.

I came across another card Nvidia Quardo 600 which is for 3d apps does this also works fine with Mari?
I also contact Mari production manager and he said that Geforce Gtx 560 superclocked works fine.
I am confused now user added image

If anybody using Gtx 560 with mari can share hows this card working.

Thanks
dushyant

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads