Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 28-01-2014 , 10:15 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2

Channel box does not have input section

Hello,

I've literally had Maya on my computer for less than 24 hours and I'm not particularly computer savvy, so if this question is painfully "Noobish" or I'm missing something completely obvious, I apologize in advance.

I'm following along with a youtube tutorial on making a basic model and he's using these reference images. When he goes to move the images so they're not crossing over eachother in the perspective view or whatever, he's using the input section of his channel box to do this and I can't seem to figure out how to get it to show.

As far as I'm aware you just go to either your front or side view, click the camera thing and the channel box should pop up w/ the inputs/image plane drop down there, right?

I have my construction history on 100% which is what the answer on every other thread I've seen about this has been.

Anyways thanks in advance for any help you can give me!user added image

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 28-01-2014 , 10:55 PM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Yeah, first thing I thought of was construction history, but you've got that on.
If you create a new scene and just make a cube, do you have an input in the channel box? Sometimes there aren't any inputs because the history has been deleted or because there aren't any inputs on that node.

# 3 28-01-2014 , 11:17 PM
sampson01's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Williamson, WV
Posts: 120
first you need to select the camera in the viewport directly under the word view. then go to the attribute editor and select the tab at the top that says image plane1 or whatever you named it. then after clicking that tab once, go directly to the bottom of the attribute editor and choose select (it's beside load attributes), then switch to your channel box... hope that helps.

btw- I'm using Maya 2013

also, even though this guy is a pretty good teacher, I wouldn't consider this a "basic" tutorial. I've watched it though and I really like this guy... cheers


Sampson

Last edited by sampson01; 28-01-2014 at 11:25 PM.
# 4 28-01-2014 , 11:48 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks you two.

That worked perfectly, thank you Sampson!

And yeah, I enjoy his style for sure - but perhaps I should start out with something a little more basic eh? My torso ended up looking all kinds of crazy user added image

Thanks again.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads