Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 17-03-2015 , 11:33 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6

Adding thickness problem -good practice question

Hi All and thanks for looking,

There have been a lot of posts regarding adding thickness; mainly revolving around extruding or duplicating+scaling. I understand the principles but it seems to me that there must be something worng with my approach.

I have a problem with the model you can see below and I am looking for both advice on how to do it, but also some pointers on 'general good practice' in this area. Perhaps I should have taken a different approach right from the start?

Anyways I am modelling this small vehicle cabin. I thought I will model a [half] of a cube, adding detail for the 'roof' and windows. I then wanted to extrude the whole thing, delete windows, and bride the inner edges of the windows. I have done that before on less detailed objects.

However, it does not work. Extrude does not extrude at all (it moves faces) and the whole thing seems very messy. What am I doing wrong? How should I have gone about it?

Thank yo very much!

user added image

user added image

# 2 18-03-2015 , 03:26 PM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
What happens if you put a value into the thickness attribute rather than pulling the manipulator?

# 3 18-03-2015 , 10:53 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Hi Stwert,

thanks again : ) it behaves in a similar way:

user added image

I tried with faces together/not, checking for any doubled vertices...

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads