SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Modeling Machine Parts
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2003, 02:47 PM   #1
mshoward82
Registered User
 
mshoward82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Modeling Machine Parts

Have a part that I have made using AutoDesk Inventor. Now I want to create the part in Maya.

Just wanted to know if anyone knew what might be the best way to go about drawing it.

Here's a pic:
__________________
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 02:50 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

if you can export your inventor model to a DXF, or IGES you can than import this into Maya. In Maya 5 you can import DWG file format.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 03:06 PM   #3
mshoward82
Registered User
 
mshoward82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I exported the drawing to IGES and imported it to Maya 4.5.
It kinda worked. It gave the entire wire frame, but wouldn't render all the surfaces.

Is there a reason for this?
__________________
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 03:08 PM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ur either in wireframe mode of u need to assign a surface/shader to it
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 03:21 PM   #5
mshoward82
Registered User
 
mshoward82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When I imported, it had some errors.
-->

Warning: Cannot tessellate the NURBS surface 'HANGER_CASTING_iges_bnd_srf__9Shape': polygon failed consistency


This is what it gave me:
__________________
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 05:24 PM   #6
cb8rwh
Subscriber
 
cb8rwh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

can you select all the blue lines/curves?? they will probably be a way of making nurbs surfaces from those if you can - lofting, revolving etc
__________________
cheers

Rich
cb8rwh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 06:50 PM   #7
mshoward82
Registered User
 
mshoward82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I couldn't figure it out so I just started modeling of the wire frame and created a new part.
__________________
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.