SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-07-2007, 08:56 PM   #1
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default Maya - > Zbrush

Well i thnik there are many question about this point but i couldn't find ... so how i import Maya object into Zbrush sry for question it may be asked 100 times ...:blush:
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 08:59 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Select the object in maya export it as an .obj file (if its not in the export settings enable it in the plug in manager)

Then in Zbrush open a new document and go to import, select the object and then its loaded as the tool
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 09:01 PM   #3
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
Select the object in maya export it as an .obj file (if its not in the export settings enable it in the plug in manager)

Then in Zbrush open a new document and go to import, select the object and then its loaded as the tool
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 09:02 PM   #4
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

i'm not an expert concerning zbrush, to be quite frankly i'm a complete moron, but i happen to know how to do this:attn:
You have to save your model as an OBJ. file(i think you can turn this on in the plugin manager)and open this file as a tool in Z-brush.

good luck

edit; there was somebody who knew the answer to, amazing LOL

Last edited by mastone : 29-07-2007 at 09:06 PM.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 09:04 PM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

And the other process when i finish my detail work in Zbrush .. ? Zbrush - > maya

p.s Not to ask 2 times
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 09:08 PM   #6
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

I think you can load the model as an OBJ. file and save it in maya as a maya file again
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 09:08 PM   #7
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

hmm i can't find .Obj exportation in Plug in
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 09:10 PM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

I found it
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 09:36 PM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mastone
I think you can load the model as an OBJ. file and save it in maya as a maya file again
You can but if your poly level is high then maya wont like it in the slightest!

Also when you import the object into maya, soften the normals, for some reason Zbrush hardens them, then again it might be the .obj converter.

If you get up to hundreds of thousand polys/millions than your going to haveto render out dispalcement maps form Zbrush and then apply them to the model in maya, I generally export the level 2 from Zbrush and render the maps form there.

Only problem is that Zbrush 3 dosent have the multi dispalcement exporter as yet, so your stuck to 16 bit tiffs. I have to open the model in Z2 and the render the maps to get 32 bit tif's that I then comvert to map files for mental ray.

If your going to use mental ray then you need to set up the approximation editor to control the displacement level, if your using software then you might need to up the tessalation attributes, theres lots of tutorials on how to go about it.

Oh you'll have to have uv mapped your model before going into Zbrush, if youve not its not a problem as you can switch the low poly model with fixed up uvs by saving a morph target of the origianl and importing the fixed one and then by switchin the morph target.

Hope it helps!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 09:48 PM   #10
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

I really don't understand all but ... i have plenty of tuts on Zbrsuh . And im going to watch them ... =]:p
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 10:01 PM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ColdWave
I really don't understand all but ... i have plenty of tuts on Zbrsuh . And im going to watch them ... =]:p

Haha, dont worry, seems like a forign language till you get used to it, alphas, morph targets, projection masters etc etc!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 10:06 PM   #12
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
Haha, dont worry, seems like a forign language till you get used to it, alphas, morph targets, projection masters etc etc!
Yeah .... just wonder the half of the terms you used in the previous post : ))))) i will get used to them just need some practise and video time
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2007, 07:31 PM   #13
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

I find that Maya is okay around the 150,000 poly mark for importing obj's.

Also can I just remark here: the original question with regard to getting a mesh into ZB is not a difficult task to find out for yourself in the first place. Its in the Zb help menu set plus the word import is in the tool menu...Im a real stickler for these types of questions because it clearly indicates the lack of enthusiasm to find out for yourself.

I think there was a thread with regard to this type of thing a while back. If its something totally unbeknown and alien fair enough because terminology can be diffferent in each package but the 'Import' command remains one of the most global of all in any of the software...

C'mon people engage brains!

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.