SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / dualBoot
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-12-2009, 05:22 AM   #1
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default dualBoot

hi all
i had installed xp64bit on my pc and finally got windows 7 so i installed windows on a separate partition.Now here comes the problem i cant access my xp64bit anymore when i boot it just goes straight to windows 7. is there a way i can access my xp or im i screwed
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2009, 05:48 AM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I don't think you're screwed. It has to do with how windows writes the MBR (master boot record) on installation. If you install Linux and Windows as dual boot, Linux will install a boot loader that will let you choose which partition to boot to as it loads.

Windows doesn't install a boot loader by default I don't think. I realize that doesn't help you directly... do you have the partitions on different drives? If so, could you try to remove the second one and see if it boots back to xp? Hopefully someone else can be more helpful than I am, but don't give up hope yet! I've thought I'd screwed myself over several times when messing with dual boot systems, but I always managed to get back to my original OS.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2009, 10:14 AM   #3
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

ok so i installed some old games that i have i dont have a great graphics card(ati radeon hd4830) so i usually play games on 1024 by 768 with everything on max to get my 60frame rate mark on a 26inch monitor it used to be full screen on xp 64bit but now it only covers the middle part of the screen .this only happens when i play dx9 games

ok cant seem to get a screen grab so let me make a quick image the white is where the game displays

hope im making my self clear
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-2.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	43436  
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2009, 06:44 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default Re: dualBoot

Quote:
Originally posted by murambi
hi all
i had installed xp64bit on my pc and finally got windows 7 so i installed windows on a separate partition.Now here comes the problem i cant access my xp64bit anymore when i boot it just goes straight to windows 7. is there a way i can access my xp or im i screwed
Well you should be able to change the boot settings. Control Panel> System> Advanced Systems settings >Advanced tab> Startup and recovery settings and you can change the default OS and even the amount of time you have to choose.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2009, 05:52 PM   #5
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

hey genny i can only see one os on the options
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-2.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	179.7 KB
ID:	43442  
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2009, 04:58 PM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Strange. Check this out -> Change the default OS
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2009, 08:15 PM   #7
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

well i think im screwed
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.