SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / how to use MAYA LIVE ???
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2005, 06:43 PM   #16
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hey, how can I upload my video clips?

I want to show you my tracking attempts!

Last edited by le_geo : 07-02-2005 at 10:00 PM.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to le_geo For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2005, 06:43 PM   #17
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I've edited this message because the ZIP folder I created didnt work. My bad.

Last edited by le_geo : 07-02-2005 at 10:01 PM.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to le_geo For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2005, 07:10 PM   #18
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hi,

I was referring to Maya Help, I always do, but in its Live tutorial they never mentioned to press F6 to open the thing! Seriously.

Anyway, I've had some time to put Lisa wise words into action and have a go at some tracks. Bare in mind there are no lights, shadows and the objects are super crude. Once I figure out how to upload them, please offer feedback/advice.

Thanks in advance,
Geo.

Last edited by le_geo : 07-02-2005 at 10:03 PM.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to le_geo For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2005, 09:58 PM   #19
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Oh! Bye the way! Sorry about the multiple posts, I didnt think my computer successfully uploaded the file! Sorry!
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to le_geo For This Useful Post:
Old 08-02-2005, 05:22 AM   #20
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

le_geo

You won't be able to upload video clips here. You'll have to upload them to an offsite server then link to them here.

You can zip them and upload them but they'll have to be below the alloted file size of 262144 bytes.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dave_baer For This Useful Post:
Old 08-02-2005, 08:18 AM   #21
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hey leo, hope the tracking is going well!

You could send me the video clip that you are using to track to my yahoo address if you like. I'll take a look and offer any advice I think is necessary. If you have any compositing software, such as Shake, you could try processing your image sequence to make it better to track. I find this can help a lot.

Hope to hear from you soon

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lisa_gonzalez For This Useful Post:
Old 15-02-2005, 11:08 AM   #22
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hi everyone,

it took a while, but I managed to get my friend to upload my tracking test clips on his website. The links are below. Please take a look and offer feedback.

There's no lighting, or shadows and objects are very crude, just basic camera movement. In case you're wondering, the clips are really small, less than 1 mb each.

http://www.acehit.co.uk/live_test_1.avi

http://www.acehit.co.uk/live_test_2.avi

I hope they open/download OK!

Thanks,

Geo.

Last edited by le_geo : 15-02-2005 at 11:12 AM.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to le_geo For This Useful Post:
Old 15-02-2005, 11:33 AM   #23
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hey Leo, long time no hear!

Your tracking looks great, especially considering the quality of your backplates. If you feel you have jitter, try smoothing out the camera curves manually in Maya.

What was your pixel slip in Maya LIVE?? (it'll be a figure in a box under the solve menu set). Ideally, you don't want it too high....around 0.4 is a really good result.....don't worry though if yours is high!! The tracking I do has to be pretty damn good, so we have to be accurate. Your effort is great, keep it up mate!!

LisaG

__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lisa_gonzalez For This Useful Post:
Old 15-02-2005, 01:35 PM   #24
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Thanks Lisa,

yeah, it's better than I thought it would be. Pixel slip was pretty good I think, below 1.0, something like 0.8... cant remember exactly...

Something I was wondering about though, in the clip featuring the hallway, I wanted to do a test animating something like a spider crawling on the wall (nothing major just a test).

But when I put a plane in to simulate the wall, it didnt line up that well. Could it be that my hall isnt straight, because I took meticulous measurements for each track point?

Oh yeah, one other thing, I want to change the scene so the origin is better positioned for animation (points constraint or something?). Do you use this feature?

Thanks for reading,
Couldn't have got this far without your help!
Geo.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to le_geo For This Useful Post:
Old 15-02-2005, 02:02 PM   #25
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hey Leo.

Unfortunately, that is a weakness with LIVE...the solver isn't that great. You will notice this when it gives you a poor shape for your solution. The shape of the locators the solve produces should roughly represent the overall shape of your scene in reality. LIVE is not too great for this. You can improve your solves by adding plane and distance constraints. You could try selecting all of the points that make up one wall, and add a plane constraint to them. When you do this, a blue rectangle will appear in your scene, simply orient this to represent the wall, then resolve. It may well force the locators into the shape you want. There is more info about this in the help files.

** she takes a breath!! **

When you open your LIVE export in Maya, group both the camera and locators together to make an overall scene group. You can then move this group around in 3D space to where you want it to be. As a general rule, you should move and scale the solve to fit a built scene, and not move the scene to fit the camera. Sorry, this is VERY difficult for me to explain without actually showing you how to do it. Make a plane to be your wall, then move your new scene group until the wall looks right through the camera. The wall will track properly as long as the appropriate locators are touching the wall plane. Does this make sense???



:bandit:
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lisa_gonzalez For This Useful Post:
Old 19-02-2005, 12:34 PM   #26
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hey Lisa,

thanks for comment, sorry I havent responded sooner.

wow yeah, I think that makes sense, I wouldn't have thought of grouping locaters and camera together, sounds like a good idea. I'll have to try it when I have a spare time.

I was just wondering, if you ever have a piece of footage with a very fast movement that is really pretty blurry, can/do you ever manually position the solve ? Can you manually position the solve at all?

Anyway..... you should create your own video tutorial series Lisa, people would download your expert advice like crazy!

Thanks,
Geo.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to le_geo For This Useful Post:
Old 19-02-2005, 04:19 PM   #27
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I'm not entirely sure I know what you mean about manually positioning the solve for a blurry shot?? Do you mean how can you track a blurry shot?? You can manually place the tracking locator for every frame if you need to - not every shot you come across (in fact, very little!) will you give you perfect points to track. If you have a very fast moving shot with motion blur, you can manually place the tracking locator for each frame for where you think the centre is, obviously you need to try to be accurate.

Could you post a screenshot of your Maya scene with you solve/geometry at all? I could give you some better advice if I took a look, or feel free to email it to me.

..it would be quite cool to create a vid on this, but I'm pretty busy at the mo, moving house in a few weeks, so things are pretty hectic at the mo. Glad your learning lots though, sounds like you are picking it up really well to be good at tracking takes a lot of practice and patience.

LisaG :p
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/

Last edited by lisa_gonzalez : 23-10-2005 at 03:24 PM.
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lisa_gonzalez For This Useful Post:
Old 27-02-2005, 11:48 AM   #28
le_geo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hey,

about 'manually positioning' the camera, I meant animating it by hand, like you would normally, so that you can judge by eye where the track points should be. I was thinking this might be necesary if the shot is to fast or blurry for Live to understand.

Do you have any tracking attempts online at all? I'd love to see some examples of your work.

Do you use any other tracking software other than Live? I've heard good things about Boujou...

Geo.
le_geo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to le_geo For This Useful Post:
Old 27-02-2005, 01:11 PM   #29
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hi Leo.

Yes, you can hand track the camera! This is every trackers nightmare!! (well, it is for me anyway)...it can be very difficult to hand track the camera if the move is very fast or complicated, or the shot is very long. Literally hand tracking the camera means just setting up a camera and moving it frame by frame into position, to try to recreate the real camera move (sorry, this probably isn't a very good explanation!) You can just manually track the points yourself like I said before. If you are pretty accurate, you should get a solve out of it.

Unfortunately I cannot post any examples of shots I've tracked, as everything I've tracked so far has been for films that aren't even out yet!! I'm not even allowed to put shots on my showreel until the DVD is out.

I use Boujou bullet, Boujou 3 and 3d Equalizer as well as Maya Live. Boujou is a good, easy program to use, but I find that it crashes a lot, and is a pain to set up each time you start a new shot. It can give great solves though, and because it creates so many points, it is very easy to align scene geometry to Boujou solves. 3D equalizer is the best tracking software out of the lot. It has an excellent solver, and can also handle zoom shots really well. The interface takes some getting used to, but once you can use it it's great. I've found that shots that won't solve in Boujou or Live will come out fine in 3de. At work, some people specialise in a particular tracking software, which they use all the time. I like to change between them all, as they all have good and bad points, so one particular piece of tracking software might be more suitable for some shots than others.

Jeez, I can waffle on sometimes......lol!!

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lisa_gonzalez For This Useful Post:
Old 27-02-2005, 08:11 PM   #30
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lisa_gonzalez
Jeez, I can waffle on sometimes......lol!!
Let me assure you we all enjoy your Waffling

This is one great thread!

Thanks Lisa . . and Leo to for bringing it up.

Cheers
Paul
Extreme Newbie
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BMS For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.