Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 04-08-2009 , 12:26 PM
andymcbride's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: atlanta
Posts: 42

disappearing objects in render

so im building a city...and im having a wierd issue...one of my objects doesnt always apear in renders...and there are lights that should be illuminating it...any ideas?

Attached Thumbnails

https://www.2amdesign.net
I would love to collaborate with anyone to texture and do zbrush work so let me know
# 2 04-08-2009 , 12:30 PM
Dango77's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,008
Do you have some of your objects on a render layer, and some not added to it maybe?

Or objects in a couple of different render layers, and you have the settings set to only render one of the layers?

# 3 04-08-2009 , 12:33 PM
andymcbride's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: atlanta
Posts: 42
well if i did have only certain layers renderable...why is only half of it rendering sometimes?...at certain angles you can see the whole thing...at others you cant at all...and all my lights are soft not hard edges...it just doesnt make sense...im testing and cleaning up to see if i can find out why its doing this...


https://www.2amdesign.net
I would love to collaborate with anyone to texture and do zbrush work so let me know
# 4 04-08-2009 , 12:43 PM
Dango77's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,008
Not sure then, if your clean up doesn't work, try deleting all the render layers, then start again and make sure you've added all the objects into just one, thewn try rendering that a couple of times.

Apart from that the only other thing I can think of would be that you've got some objects selected before you start rendering, and you've got "render selected objects only" selected. That would make different objects render at different times depending what you have selected before you open up the render view.

If it's neither of those things, I'm lost!

# 5 04-08-2009 , 12:44 PM
andymcbride's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: atlanta
Posts: 42
also now i have a light coming from nowhere lighting up the building....getting frustrated...


https://www.2amdesign.net
I would love to collaborate with anyone to texture and do zbrush work so let me know
# 6 04-08-2009 , 12:56 PM
andymcbride's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: atlanta
Posts: 42
ok now I just selected all objects and "break lights links"

And that makes my rogue light turn off...but also kills ALL my other lights....buh!!

EDIT: I figured out the rogue light... aperantly the lights on my bilboard were somehow bouncing off the bilboard and it was acting like a super reflector or somthing....either way i have to figure out how to light my bilboards without i them illuminating the whole scene...


https://www.2amdesign.net
I would love to collaborate with anyone to texture and do zbrush work so let me know

Last edited by andymcbride; 04-08-2009 at 01:07 PM.
# 7 04-08-2009 , 01:12 PM
honestdom's Avatar
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
open the outliner and delete whatever rouge light you have. Also check if you have unticked primary visibility on the objects render stats.

don't confuse display layers with render layers. i doubt you have any render layers.

have you also deselected use default lights in the render settings?


if all fails post the file up here and someone can have a look.

# 8 04-08-2009 , 01:15 PM
andymcbride's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: atlanta
Posts: 42
ya the light thing i figured out...but my grounds objects keep halfway disapearing in render...if i cant figure it during lunch then ill post it up here...thanks!


https://www.2amdesign.net
I would love to collaborate with anyone to texture and do zbrush work so let me know
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads