Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 21-07-2014 , 10:52 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 47

ME character

I made a character from Mass Effect, so that I can improve my skills more. Only texturing is left to do. user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

# 2 23-07-2014 , 06:03 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
You should add some loops around the hard edges. Right now they look too soft.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 23-07-2014 , 04:23 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 47
Will do, thanks for your reply. user added image

# 4 26-07-2014 , 04:07 PM
cgisoul's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Hi zarxy,

Can you post your wireframe so we can have a closer look at your edge flow?

# 5 27-07-2014 , 03:06 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 47
Here is the wireframe, but don't pay attention at the size difference on the foot, I am going to fix that with mirror geometry later on. user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image


Last edited by zarxy; 28-07-2014 at 10:24 AM.
# 6 27-07-2014 , 10:44 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Hey Zarxy, those images are gigantic and it would be much more viewer friendly if you cropped out the dead space and the UI. They take a while to load for me.

Also, the "wireframe on shaded" option in the Shading menu in the 3D view makes for a more readable shot and in the case of Maya's default dark blue wireframe, you could probably boost the ambient on the lambert just a tad so the lines stand out more.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 7 28-07-2014 , 10:27 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 47
Well I took few screen shots with the wireframe on shaded, so is this better now?

# 8 29-07-2014 , 10:31 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
That's much clearer. There are some proportion issues, the arms, legs and torso seem short and the hands look pretty small. Then there are the n-gons on the front thigh that make it appear to be collapsing.

Also you can crop images in Windows, see vid.
How to Crop a Picture in Windows 8 - YouTube


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 9 30-07-2014 , 06:47 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 47
Thanks for the crop method video, but about the short thing I tried to follow the image as much as possible, so I can't really find an easy way to make them taller other then having to delete and start making them again, so I'll leave them as they are, cuz I used for modeling different image for front view and different image for side view, it kind of made it a bit hard to do the modeling this way, cuz there was no image of the front view that matches for the side view, but about the smaller size of the hands I can increase them a bit more. Thanks for your comment. user added image


Last edited by zarxy; 30-07-2014 at 06:57 AM.
# 10 17-08-2014 , 11:50 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 47
I just finished texturing the character and I tried to fix a bit the proportions, tell me guys what do you think about the textures? user added image
here are few screenshots:

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

user added image

# 11 17-08-2014 , 12:00 PM
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 91
I like it user added image

# 12 20-08-2014 , 08:26 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 47
Thanks user added image
Now I am trying to make environment for this character and in this screenshot I made the first part. user added image

user added image

Tell me what you guys think? user added image

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads