SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / Halo 3 Brute Biped
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-02-2007, 09:03 AM   #1
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Halo 3 Brute Biped

Been picked up by a Halo 1 mod team to do a biped for their Single Player campaign. Its model of the Halo 3 Brute.

(reference)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...rute_front.jpg

(PDF-3D - LMB to orbit, LMB-circle the mouse around -- rotate camera, LMB + Alt -- pan, RMB -- zoom; Couple of triangulation glitches, lighting sucks)
http://www.chimpire.com/gallery/brute_alpha.pdf

(H.264)
http://www.chimpire.com/gallery/brute_006.mov

(AVI--large)
http://www.chimpire.com/gallery/brute_006.avi

(Maya Binary) -- if you did any modifications to it and want to give me the revision
--
AIM:Ready9628
MSN privateer@myself.com (only works for MSN, not email)
Email me at scott@chimpire.com
Or just attach the revision to the forum in a reply.
Should credit be necessary (rather than just generic "Simply Maya forum members"), please define somewhere visible.
--
http://www.chimpire.com/source/brute_006.mb

Please, feed back is greatly appreciated. The mod leader may not like it but also feel free to use the model at will. I'm not a prick about those things, I don't care.

Thanks a bunch for the feedback. I'm headed off to Toronto for a couple of days, hoping I can fix it up when I get back. Its obviously looking very messy, particularly around the lower arm's armor.

I figure its pretty obvious, but the bulging parts are armor, as per the screenshot for reference earlier.

Last edited by Phopojijo : 19-02-2007 at 10:11 AM.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 01:34 PM   #2
SpaceGoat
Registered User
 
SpaceGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Looking good for a start and some more reference material would help us help more. At the moment the legs stick out too far and are rather thick accurate to the reference except that he is bending down in that pic and not standing straight.

Also how did you make that PDF? Looks really cool and is it possible to have textures in there as well?
SpaceGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 02:01 PM   #3
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, you can have textures aswell. The biggest disadvantage for creating a pdf of your model to show it, is that it's pretty easy to steal the model.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 08:57 PM   #4
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJbLAZER
Yes, you can have textures aswell. The biggest disadvantage for creating a pdf of your model to show it, is that it's pretty easy to steal the model.
Lol, which I obviously don't care since I gave it out anyway :p Frankly I see no point in preserving anything you make unless its for a company. And if that's the case, why would the acrobat file leave the company?

As for reference -- that was all I had. Bungie hasn't released much on Halo 3 yet... I've mostly just been grabbing frames from http://www.bungie.net/News/TopStory.aspx?cid=9340 as necessary. The reference for this image was *horrible* but then again that's what I needed to compensate for.

As for reference planes -- that's all I had. I worked it off the reference plane until I had the rough cylindrical components made -- then when I joined it together I manually rotated everything into the traditional T. Since then it's all "Leave the video in monitor 2, and look back and forth".

Hard but necessary.

As an appendix: http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat3d/tryout.html

30-day trial for Acrobat 3d. Doesn't accept mb or ma files -- but it can screengrab (have the viewport open and click printscreen with Acrobat open in the background and set on grab from screen -- didn't work for me since I have XP x64) or just simply import OBJ files.

Last edited by Phopojijo : 19-02-2007 at 08:59 PM.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.