SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Any Good Computer For 3D modeling..??...
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2007, 05:15 PM   #1
alessandro754
Registered User
 
alessandro754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: london
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Any Good Computer For 3D modeling..??...

well I've been modeling now 1 1/2 weeks and notice my computer is getting real slow ... i tried eve thing add some cache and Ram but nothing seems to please him...( the computer ) , now does any of you guys have a good computer specs so i can try and get a new Desktop for my 3D Modeling ...


I am using this HP Laptop Pavilion follow the link : but i upgraded with 2 GB RAM !!!

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/sto...369&tabIndex=1


Thanks guys ... i really wanna see and work on my Mental Ray ....
__________________
There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
alessandro754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:23 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

The most likely cause of your slow down is the graphics card since it only has 64k onboard memory.

Here is a link for the system requirements to run Maya

http://www.autodesk.co.uk/adsk/servl...932&id=8809516

Last edited by jsprogg : 10-04-2007 at 05:27 PM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:30 PM   #3
alessandro754
Registered User
 
alessandro754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: london
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok....Would you know any Desktop brand with this specs....
Cause i would to build mine one , but i haven't got enough time to do and besides i wouldn't have clue how to start .....

by the way thanks for your reply !!!
__________________
There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
alessandro754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:35 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

It really depends on your price bracket but i would say you need a reasonably fast cpu with a minimum of 1 GB of Ram ,2 or more is better and the best graphics card you can afford(take a look at qualifying cards) but most onboard motherboard cards are not usually up to the job.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:46 PM   #5
alessandro754
Registered User
 
alessandro754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: london
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What about the processor ?

Pentium or Athlon .......??
__________________
There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
alessandro754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:51 PM   #6
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

i think thats a personal choice,myself I prefer intel but others swear by Athlon of course it depends too on what other uses your pc is for.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:04 PM   #7
alessandro754
Registered User
 
alessandro754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: london
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for you time !!!!!. i need to get a Pc soon !!! very soon , thank you !!!
__________________
There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
alessandro754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 07:13 PM   #8
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I have an Intel 2.8 GHz processor with a 256MB NVidia Graphics card and 1 GB ram. It works well so far but like jsprogg said, I wish I had 2 GB Ram instead.

Seems like more people might use Athlon but right now I'm more than happy with my Intel.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.