Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 25-05-2013 , 05:19 PM

Help w/ UV Problem - Hopefully a simple fix!

Thanks to anyone who takes a stab at this one, I've been stuck on this for two days!

I'm brand new to Maya, and have just figured out the basics of UV mapping. I've mapped an object in Maya 2013, and now I'm trying to export it to Maxwell Studio 2.7.20 (all plugins are up to date). While still in Maya, the object's textures/uvs appear as expected in the view port, as well as when the scene is rendered.

When I export to Maxwell Studio, the object is fine, but the texture is messed up. Specifically, the object displays the main background colour of the texture map itself, but not the actual texture.

I've included a couple screens to describe the problem, as well as the maya scene file itself, in case there are any brave souls who wish to dig deeper.

Thanks in advance, I'm extremely grateful for any help.

Cheers!
Matt

HW Specs:
Maya 2013
Maxwell 2.7.20
(All plugs up to date)
Mac OSX 10.7.5
12GB Ram

Attached Thumbnails
Attached Files
File Type: zip RoofEdge2.zip (956.3 KB, 271 views)

Last edited by mattler; 25-05-2013 at 05:21 PM.
# 2 25-05-2013 , 06:00 PM
The thin red line
I don't use Maxwell but I can see it has a texture editor look in there see if there is a option for file size..................dave

# 3 25-05-2013 , 06:34 PM
Thanks Dave, that was a really good thought. I'm almost certain it's going to be something simple like that.

I played around with the UV scaling in Maxwell Studio with no luck. I also double checked that the materials were properly assigned in Maxwell, and that texture mode was enabled.

I made another object that was almost identical with no problems. This is causing smoke to emanate from my ears.. user added image

# 4 25-05-2013 , 06:58 PM
The thin red line