Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 16 16-09-2014 , 11:57 AM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221
@juanpax thanks very much the lighting and rendering should be out soon.

Here is volume 3 https://simplymaya.com/autodesk-maya-...ut/?tut_id=362 headus UVLayout

Quite happy with this one, anyone that finds the process of uvlayout a bit slow should watch this and more importantly grab a copy of headus UVlayout (https://www.uvlayout.com/) I can't recomend the programe highley enough.

All the best
Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 17 16-09-2014 , 12:20 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 18 16-09-2014 , 09:25 PM
MrYeti's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Down Under
Posts: 245
Hey thanks for the response David, I'll have a shot at doing that and see what I come up with, if I get confused I'll take you up on the video offer.


Cheers, the Yeti.
# 19 16-09-2014 , 09:43 PM
MrYeti's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Down Under
Posts: 245
I can get the wireframe showing up when I playblast but not when I render, what am I missing?


Cheers, the Yeti.
# 20 16-09-2014 , 10:02 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221
you won't get the wire to show up in the render, you need to use the images form the playblast and overlay them on the render. I use nuke but aftereffects will do or even photoshop if you're just doing a single frame. Use a plus merge and the black will disappear leaving the render with the viewport wire over the top.

If you can't get it no bother i'll record a short video will have to wait till the morrow though as it's midnight here atm.

Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 21 18-09-2014 , 02:49 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
So I'm following this excellent tutorial, but in lesson 12 I run into a problem. At 4:55 my curve won't display any vertices, it stays just selected and of course my tube won't bend. Any suggestions what went wrong?

# 22 18-09-2014 , 09:12 PM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
tanzill did you rebuild the curve.................dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 23 19-09-2014 , 11:53 AM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221

So I'm following this excellent tutorial, but in lesson 12 I run into a problem. At 4:55 my curve won't display any vertices, it stays just selected and of course my tube won't bend. Any suggestions what went wrong?

Sorry i totally missed this are you still having a problem?

Glad you liked the tutorial
Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 24 19-09-2014 , 11:59 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks for response. Yes, I did rebuild curve. Tried same thing a few times following exactly the steps in tutorial, but something is not working so well.

# 25 19-09-2014 , 12:01 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221
I'll run through that part of the tutorial now and see if i can find the problem.

Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 26 19-09-2014 , 12:23 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221
@tanzill is your ep curve set to 3 cubic and knot spacing uniform? It should be set to that by default. if it is send me the maya file dave@simplymaya.com and i'll try and figure out what's gone wrong for you.

Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 27 19-09-2014 , 02:09 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221
I got the file thanks the problem is the CV points are hidden in maya 2015. Go to the show menu in the viewport and click all. Thats the menu on the top edge of the perspective or orthographic views.

Anything else i can help with let me know.
Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 28 30-09-2014 , 12:10 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Hi, quick question. The tutorial of "heads UV Layout" would be like the third part or volume 3 of "interiors & furniture...", right? Just wanted to now because I'm about to start "interiors and furniture". When will the volume of texturing / lighting / rendering be ready? No pressure user added image just for curiosity. I know those 3 first volumes will keep me busy for a while user added image

BTW, I just finished the "victorian house" tutorial, it wasn't the greatest but it had some useful stuff, here is the final result. Its only the model, I'm not planning to finish it until I complete these and other tutorials in SimplyMaya.

There's more of my work at https://serkestudio.com/design/

Attached Thumbnails
# 29 30-09-2014 , 12:57 AM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,221
Nice work there

I hope you enjoy my tutorials and yes the heads UV Layout tutorial can be thought of as volume 3 in the series.

I finished the mental ray tutorial about an hour ago user added image so if mental ray is your render engine of choice then it should be out in a couple of days, you'll have to wait a week if you want vray.

All the best
Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 30 30-09-2014 , 11:45 AM
Jay's Avatar
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,287
Looks like a nice tute....we are using headus here at work..Im not personally but a couple of the creature guys are...

Cheers
J

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads