SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / changing hotkeys for vertex,edge,face in mac keyboard?

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
12-08-2014, 10:35 AM   #1
kreativ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
changing hotkeys for vertex,edge,face in mac keyboard?
Hi,

MY imac has that small keyboard where you have to press fn+f8 etc instead of just f8 to get to component mode or select faces, etc. I tried changing the hotkeys for f8,f9,f10,f11 (mode, vertex, edge, faces) in the hotkey editor to shift+f8 instead but couldnt find the category these are in. Can someone point me in the right direction/category?
  Reply with quote
12-08-2014, 02:09 PM   #2
Skalman
Registered User
 
Skalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 293
Window - Settings/preferences - Hotkey Editor

Im guessing it should be there somewhere, have a look there
__________________
20 year old guy from Sweden



Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman


https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
  Reply with quote
12-08-2014, 02:36 PM   #3
kreativ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Quote:
Window - Settings/preferences - Hotkey Editor

Im guessing it should be there somewhere, have a look there
yeah, like i said, i cant find it there, hence, was asking for a category to look into. I personnaly checked all and cant find it. Surely, i missed it but hoping someone here can tell me where it is.
  Reply with quote
02-09-2014, 05:48 AM   #4
Skalman
Registered User
 
Skalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 293
You can go to the user tab at the hotkey editor and create your own. Try and find out in your script editor what commands that popup when you use fn+f8/f9 etc, write them down and choose new hotkeys for theese commands in the user hotkey editor tab

Sorry about that previous reply man, Didnt think that one through
__________________
20 year old guy from Sweden



Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman


https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
  Reply with quote
03-09-2014, 08:47 PM   #5
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
In the Hotkey Editor where you input the assigned keystroke there is a little arrow to the right of the input box, click it and select f10 for example. Once that pops up in the input field, click the "find" button below. It finds and highlights whatever command is assigned and highlights the category.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows insert button on a mac keyboard? reis Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 20-11-2010 07:46 PM
Mac or PC joemilkweed Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 16 05-01-2010 03:24 PM
Changing Default Hotkeys The Architect Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 31-01-2007 03:43 AM
changing hotkeys strytus Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 31-01-2005 05:48 AM
Maya On The Mac - Good Vibrations or The End of the World As We Know It Russell Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 54 29-05-2003 05:09 AM