SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / unusual polygon shading

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
03-05-2007, 03:33 AM   #1
DougFisher
Registered User
 
DougFisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
unusual polygon shading
When using polygons and I create say a 1mtr cube in default shading, the shading is regular in appearance on all 6 faces.

When I decrease the width of the polygon, say down to a standard 200mm, the 200mm edge becomes much darker than the balance of the cube.

IN a simple cube it is not too much of a problem, but i am modelling complete buildings and the result shading can be very offputting.

We have tried decreasing the hardware acceleration, which fixes the shading problem, but obviously degrades the performance of the hardware/computer and it becomes choppy, so this isnt a practical solution.

I am using an ATI Radeon 1550 series graphics card. For my computer specs, I have attached an Everest Report in text format.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Doug
Attached Files
File Type: txt everest report doug fisher.txt (3.6 KB, 44 views)
__________________
Doug Fisher
  Reply with quote
14-05-2007, 09:26 PM   #2
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
You may have multiple edges overlapping causing a really dark shade on your object. You'll have to find the edges and move them from overlapping.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
  Reply with quote
15-05-2007, 04:39 AM   #3
DougFisher
Registered User
 
DougFisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks for that however no overlaps just a single poly - I got further info on the problem - I take the model i create and transfer it to another computer in thje office and the problem has gone ..............so I'm guessing the graphics cards the cause.
__________________
Doug Fisher
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wierd polygon shading after smoothing Magicool Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 10-11-2014 04:56 AM
Create polygon tool Srkukali Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 23-01-2014 02:40 PM
maya software wont render my scene joemilkweed Maya Technical Issues 1 30-10-2010 02:06 AM
Polygon Shading / Rendering Issue donvella Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 31-03-2006 05:31 AM
Wrong shading on polygon model DukerX Maya Materials & Textures 6 09-07-2003 04:46 PM