SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 02-09-2013, 11:37 AM
Luc.Adriaens's Avatar
Luc.Adriaens
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19

How to Suspend or Batch render different scenes in Maya?

I'm fairly new to Maya end work mostly with Maya 2012 (and 2014) and would like to render my scenes and images at night when I'm not at the office and my machine is unused.

I have read about renderfarms, but that's not an option at this point.

I use batch rendering, but that's just for one scene at a time (if I'm right...)

Before Maya, I worked in Strata3D en they have a very nice and easy to use function: 'Suspend rendering'.
In their Render window, you can hit 'Suspend' and save the scene for later rendering (or just render it).
Then you close the scene and open another one, hit render and suspend that also. And so on...
At the end of the day, you just add those 'suspended' files to a Queue and... it renders all files/scenes one at a time! Really cool and easy!

Is there such an (straightforward) functionality in Maya to do the same?

Thx for the feedback in advance!

Lucas

# 2 02-09-2013, 12:39 PM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Set up Backburner, it does exactly that.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 3 03-09-2013, 06:00 AM
Luc.Adriaens's Avatar
Luc.Adriaens
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Thx for the input!
I've looked for info about Backburner.
88 pages manual, tutorial on Lynda.com, scripting, set-up...
Whohoho!
I cannot believe mankind landed on the moon more than 40 years ago
Guess Autodesk has to learn from Strata3D in this field...

Wish me luck!

# 4 03-09-2013, 06:52 AM
Luc.Adriaens's Avatar
Luc.Adriaens
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Did I mention that I'm on Mac...
I googled a lot of things already... It will be a daunting task, that's for sure.
Found also Deadline from Thinkbox and requested a demo version.

I hope someone will come up with a clear and easy workflow... to save me a lot of time...

# 5 03-09-2013, 02:38 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
NextDesign
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
You don't need Deadline.

Are you launching batch renders from the terminal? If so, you can put them back to back by using the unix operator &&.

For example:
Code:
echo "I'm run first" && echo "I'm run second"
Just put your render commands there instead of the echos, and the next render will be run after the first is completed. Simple.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 6 09-09-2013, 12:15 PM
Luc.Adriaens's Avatar
Luc.Adriaens
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Thx for the feedback!
But no, I don't use the Terminal...
I've installed Deadline, and batch renderings without problems. I'm very happy with this tool.
Deadline is free for 2 'slaves', so I will set up another computer so I can render on that machine, and not mine if needed.

# 7 10-09-2013, 06:23 AM
Stephen's Avatar
Stephen
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 246
Try RenderPal it's free and does a great job been using it for years and can highly recommend it.


It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
# 8 10-09-2013, 06:10 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
NextDesign
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988

Try RenderPal it's free and does a great job been using it for years and can highly recommend it.

Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
It's not free actually. From their page:

Here you can download free, fully functional evaluation versions of RenderPal V2. The trial period is limited to 30 days; after this, you will either have to purchase a license or register for a free 3 nodes license in order to continue using RenderPal V2.

Originally Posted by
Source: http://www.renderpal.com/d_renderpal.php


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 9 10-09-2013, 06:36 PM
Stephen's Avatar
Stephen
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 246
It is free, by your very own quote

"or register for a free 3 nodes license".

Just register with them for a free 3 node license.

and your done.

S


It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
# 10 10-09-2013, 11:35 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
NextDesign
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Yes, but by your first post, it seemed like you were implying that it was for unlimited nodes, as the OP's post above mentioned the 2-node limit of deadline.

Moving on


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off