Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 19-08-2011 , 01:23 AM
Subscriber

Army Surplus Special

Hi
This my first post here and you all seem like a friendly bunch so I thought I would see what comment, thoughts and suggestions you would have on the stuff I am doing.
I am doing an evening course in Maya which I have been doing for the last 6 months, so still very much a newbie to it with a LOAD of questions!

Along with the course work I am doing my own projects, this is one of them: The Wacky Races Army Surplus Special. I have been trying to keep it as close to the cartoon version as possible with the main exception being the tracks
which i am having a few issues with, as in trying fit them evenly around the wheels and animate them.
There is still a few bits of modelling to do but I wanted to see what it would look like in colour so I have given it a quick texture.

I look forward hearing any thought or comment you may have, no matter how harsh!
Cheers
Steve
user added image

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 19-08-2011 , 05:28 AM
Lifetime Member
BAHAHAHAH what a cool model man!!! I remember the wavky Races. Looks good thus far mate!

bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 3 19-08-2011 , 07:13 AM
Subscriber
I agree with bullet it looks good! What kind of render are you going to try with it? Toon, photoreal, somewhere in between?

Welcome to the forums!

~To create a new world through the imagination
# 4 19-08-2011 , 11:26 AM
Subscriber
Thanks guys. Yep The Wacky races was my fave growing up... as for the render I think somewhere in between. but that may change!

# 5 19-08-2011 , 11:33 AM
Subscriber
a quick render of an earlier version (different track/wheels)