Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 14-05-2003 , 08:10 AM
flyman's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 48

en~~question about the way to make special effect

maya can make many special effect, other software can do too,for example after effect.

but the different of maya and ae is the render time.

the special effect made by maya,the render time is much longer than the special effect made by after effect...


any iead?



user added image


<img src=https://www.philsky.net/HOME/fly/photo/sign_simplymaya.jpg alt=https://www.philsky.net/HOME/fly/photo/sign_simplymaya.jpg>
# 2 14-05-2003 , 02:16 PM
adldesigner's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
What are you asking specifically?

Remember though that Maya and AE are entirely different programs, based on diferent principles, so no point in comparing them together.

# 3 14-05-2003 , 02:32 PM
ragecgi's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Right again, and good point as usual ADLuser added image

Maya is a 3d content creation application, and After Effects is a 2D compositing application.

Like ADL said, both have 2 types of "rendering" engines.

Maya's "rendering" engine actually takes your geometry, and physicaly alters, (tesselates or subdivides) it, as well as calculates lighting, and any dynamic simulations BEFORE it even shows you the image-result.

After Effects does none of that.
It takes imagery you've ALREADY rendered, and it strings and layers them together as a 2D post-process,
kinda like Photoshop on steriodsuser added image

After Effects Pro Bundle comes with a 2D particle simulation tool, and DOES need to do some minor calculations to render/add it to your footage, but it does not do anywhere near the math that Maya has to do.

So, like ADL said, when talking about 3D and 2D "rendering" concerning Maya vs. After Effects,
both programs are 2 separate beasts, each with thier own job to do, and schools of thought in order to make them do what you want to get your shot complete.

In conclusion, I hope ADL and I have helped to shed some virtual light on the difference between 3D rendering, and 2D renderinguser added image


Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
# 4 15-05-2003 , 06:36 AM
flyman's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 48
ok,I got it.
I am new in after effect ,so when sb. show me the ligting effect and the render time, I puzzled.now I clear about it.thx.

And I hope to see yours tutorial soon.


<img src=https://www.philsky.net/HOME/fly/photo/sign_simplymaya.jpg alt=https://www.philsky.net/HOME/fly/photo/sign_simplymaya.jpg>

Last edited by flyman; 15-05-2003 at 06:38 AM.
# 5 15-05-2003 , 06:43 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 182
@ragecgi:
AE has also a 3D Feature. You can position your Layers in 3D Space, you can create Lights, you can animate camera flys
--> but then the rendering also takes a lot of timeuser added image


CU morpher
# 6 15-05-2003 , 06:55 AM
ragecgi's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Yes, but still not as long as if it were all done in TRUE 3duser added image


Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads