Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 10-02-2004 , 07:01 PM
maya4todd's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163

Applying a custom ".ma" shader

I've downloaded some shaders with the ".ma" extension. And I've placed them in the Shader Library. But, I'm not sure how to apply them. I tried dragging a chrome one into the Work Area of Hypershade and applying from there, but it didn't work.

Any pointers?

Thanks


Maya rocks! :bgreen:

# 2 10-02-2004 , 07:05 PM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
you need to import them into the hypershade. goto the hypershade and then file import (in that viewpane) and then browse to the shaders. They should then appear there and act like normal textures.

Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 3 10-02-2004 , 07:08 PM
maya4todd's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Right click in the top viewpane to import? Sorry, I'm at the "dayjob" so I don't have Maya in front of me.

# 4 10-02-2004 , 08:40 PM
dirack's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Go to the hypershade click on the left bar where it says file... and select your file. Then you can use it as a texture user added image Really nothing to it :p

# 5 10-02-2004 , 09:08 PM
maya4todd's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Oh, really? Wow. Cool. Gosh, I love Maya. :bgreen:
Thanks, dirack.

# 6 10-02-2004 , 09:49 PM
twisteddragon33's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
pmed infouser added image


________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
# 7 25-10-2004 , 07:32 AM
Lifire's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Is there any way for the custom shaders have their own previews (like the ones that come with Maya) instead of just the Maya logo? It would be nice to remember what the shader looks like without always importing it. Most of the custom shaders come with a preview sample (usually .jpg) but how could you apply that so preview the shader in hypershade?


Thanks.


"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
# 8 25-10-2004 , 07:37 PM
goosemage's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
I am not sure but you might just have to use mel (maya embedded language). I use only scripts for custom buttons, because of the ease of editing. In order to get the icon, I just apply it to an object, go into the attributes editor, click the texture's tab and take a screenshot of the sample. Then I go into photoshop, then paste, crop, and resize if necessary. You could easily make them with paint to, I use .bmp's for mine. I am unsure if you can use other file formats.

# 9 25-10-2004 , 07:42 PM
Lifire's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
So I put the .bmp with the same name as the shader in the .mayaSwatches folder?


"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
# 10 25-10-2004 , 08:16 PM
goosemage's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50

Originally posted by Lifire
So I put the .bmp with the same name as the shader in the .mayaSwatches folder?

I don't know, I have it all scripted in a weird way I think. I have a shelf script, and command scripts. Shelf script makes the shelf and buttons, and then when you click a button, it executes the command script associated with it. These are not in hypershade, they are in a custom shelf I made.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads