SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Applying a custom ".ma" shader
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2004, 06:01 PM   #1
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Applying a custom ".ma" shader

I've downloaded some shaders with the ".ma" extension. And I've placed them in the Shader Library. But, I'm not sure how to apply them. I tried dragging a chrome one into the Work Area of Hypershade and applying from there, but it didn't work.

Any pointers?

Thanks


Maya rocks! :bgreen:
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 06:05 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

you need to import them into the hypershade. goto the hypershade and then file import (in that viewpane) and then browse to the shaders. They should then appear there and act like normal textures.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 06:08 PM   #3
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Right click in the top viewpane to import? Sorry, I'm at the "dayjob" so I don't have Maya in front of me.
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:40 PM   #4
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Go to the hypershade click on the left bar where it says file... and select your file. Then you can use it as a texture Really nothing to it :p
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 08:08 PM   #5
maya4todd
Subscriber
 
maya4todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA.
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, really? Wow. Cool. Gosh, I love Maya. :bgreen:
Thanks, dirack.
maya4todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 08:49 PM   #6
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

pmed info
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 07:32 AM   #7
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there any way for the custom shaders have their own previews (like the ones that come with Maya) instead of just the Maya logo? It would be nice to remember what the shader looks like without always importing it. Most of the custom shaders come with a preview sample (usually .jpg) but how could you apply that so preview the shader in hypershade?


Thanks.
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 07:37 PM   #8
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am not sure but you might just have to use mel (maya embedded language). I use only scripts for custom buttons, because of the ease of editing. In order to get the icon, I just apply it to an object, go into the attributes editor, click the texture's tab and take a screenshot of the sample. Then I go into photoshop, then paste, crop, and resize if necessary. You could easily make them with paint to, I use .bmp's for mine. I am unsure if you can use other file formats.
goosemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 07:42 PM   #9
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So I put the .bmp with the same name as the shader in the .mayaSwatches folder?
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
Lifire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 08:16 PM   #10
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lifire
So I put the .bmp with the same name as the shader in the .mayaSwatches folder?
I don't know, I have it all scripted in a weird way I think. I have a shelf script, and command scripts. Shelf script makes the shelf and buttons, and then when you click a button, it executes the command script associated with it. These are not in hypershade, they are in a custom shelf I made.
goosemage is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.