SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / skeleton problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-01-2007, 08:05 PM   #1
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default skeleton problem

can someone tell me why the center of the skeleton was like twisted? and how to i reset the rotation to be like... upright? i tried freeze transformation and got this error message "// Error: Freeze Transform was not applied because joint1.rotateX has incoming connection. //" please help thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ninja problem.jpg
Views:	457
Size:	192.0 KB
ID:	32676  
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2007, 11:22 PM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Basically, this error is telling you that the Joint1 Rotate X attribute in the control panel has some node attached to it. This will be either due to you having already binded the skin to the skeleton or some other node already working on it.

To reset its rotation this should be done for every joint that requires it prior to binding the skin. So unbind the skin and then try again.

If not let us know.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 12:23 PM   #3
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 01:39 PM   #4
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

still isnt working, i detached skin and still cant freeze transformations, same error message really frustrated apreciate all the help i can get
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 01:58 PM   #5
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

the local rotation axis are messed up on the joint.
go in component mode and choose the compnent axis option and straighten it out. [see the docs]
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:02 PM   #6
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

simply recreated skeleton and it the rotation tool starts all crooked, after freezing transformations its still crooked and im completely stumped please help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ninja pic.jpg
Views:	433
Size:	80.8 KB
ID:	32691  
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:27 PM   #7
ryokukitsune
Registered User
 
ryokukitsune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the easiest way to fix this is to delete that joint, first unparent all child bones from it and delete it and simply replace it with a new joint.

as an explination of what happened is you made a full chain of joints branching from the root. usualy you want to make your root and end its chain there then make all other chains seperate. then parrent them to the root when your finished. this keeps the orentations of the root seperate from any chain in the hierarchy so your character will have a parent orentation that is to the world.

if you wanted to take the hard way of fixing it its similar to the easy way. all you would have to do is un parent the skeleton from the root and zero out the rotations. if the orentation is screwed up you need to use the orent tool to fix it to the world. ( skeleton>orent tool = option box)

make sure your setings are reset and your rotations are zero .

if you have any other questions, IM me and I'll help you out.
ryokukitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 04:54 PM   #8
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok ill try that thanks,
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 02:48 AM   #9
ryokukitsune
Registered User
 
ryokukitsune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it also might help if you change the size of your joints to something smaller, all you have to do is select all of your joints in the hierarchy and change the radius value to a lower number this makes placement a bit easier. this value is also unique to the chain so you can have another character of a diffrent size and it have larger joints.

or you can overide all joint sizes and adjusting the display size by going to Display>joint size>custom = option box. it basicly does the same thing as changing the radus value except it does it to all joints in the scene plus new joints.
ryokukitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 08:12 PM   #10
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default sweet

sweet thanks i was trying to figure that out and couldnt, didnt think it was a big deal so i just left it thanks alot!
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.