Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-02-2007, 12:30 AM   #1
kerragan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default shader texture crash

Really weird problem, maya crashes with no error after i click the texture button on a shader. this is exactly what i do:
i make a plane, i make it shaded, then i create either a lambert, phong or blinn (ive tried them all). after that i drop the shader on. then i click the texture box for color and it crashes with no error or anything.
i have maya 8.0, and i have installed the game tools for maya 8 that came from the site the-area


EDIT: fixed it, i pressed 6 before i pressed the texture button and the box opend so now i can place a texture on it. but does anyone know why it suddenly has to do that?

EDIT2: nevermind, not fixed....i put the texture on the default lambert and i wanted to change it and then it crashed when i pressed the button to open the hypershade.

Last edited by kerragan : 02-02-2007 at 12:39 AM.
kerragan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 12:44 AM   #2
DrRobotnik
Registered User
 
DrRobotnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think i had a similar problem back in maya 4.5. I believe i just reinstalled maya.

Have you tried installing the program again?
DrRobotnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 12:51 AM   #3
kerragan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yea, im just about to reinstall it, by the way, this happened right after i opened a maya 7.0 ascii file from the digitaltutors walkcycle video, is that what caused it somehow?


EDIT: dang i just reinstalled it, same problem though. i think im going to try again this time deleting all prefes and anything else i can find that has maya on it....

EDIT: reinstalled it again, still not working, what do i do?!

EDIT:Fixed it...stupid me...i did't update my gfxcard drivers! Its always the drivers....

Last edited by kerragan : 02-02-2007 at 07:00 AM.
kerragan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.