Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-07-2007, 09:28 PM   #1
Andy William
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Tips for Rendering Large Scene w Mental Ray?

Hi All,
Does anybody know a tips or suggestion for rendering large scene w MR?
I tried to render a city scene but don't have a good luck yet .. Most of the objects in the scene are polygon and texture maps (alots of)..also alots of alpha map trees on the poly plane..most of the texture is become BOT already. It can only render if i hide the alpha map tree and some part of the city.
My comp spec is Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz, 3.5 Gb of RAM and Nvidia Quadro Nvs 485. The light source is only come from MR Physical Sun & Sky.
Thanks before.
Andy William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2007, 10:42 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Use layers man, lots of em, for the different areas. remember to render with alphas so that it makes it a lot easier to composite into a full scene, that should take away a bit load on your PC.

It might also be best to render using render scripts with a sepperate scene for each part of the scene that way you can just have maya render ing without maya actually being on mental ray will use all the system resource.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2007, 11:01 PM   #3
Andy William
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi thanks for the reply..
Just wondering..if i do a separate rendering with layers..will it gonna affect the normal result of color bleeding or bounce light for the entire scene since i m using the MR Physical Sun & Sky as my light source?
Andy William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2007, 11:11 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Dont think so as it should calculate the bounce/bleed but only for that one piece of geo, probably best off giving it a test but Ive never had any problems with it, although ive not done a full large CG scene.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.