Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 15-10-2007 , 12:48 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6

Another Maya noob (image plane size help)

Hello Im new to maya, love it, was using lightwave before but anyway heres my problem.
My problem conserns importing image planes. I would import the top and side without problems but the front view imported much larger. I found that the view>import would import the image to the same size as the viewport , thus making the front view larger because the front view is a square and the side and top are rectangles - hope you all know what I mean.

So my question is this, how can I import the images to their actual/default size. All my images are properly scaled my maya always imports the front image larger no matter what.

Iv attached a pic that hopefully explains what I mean a bit better.

cheers
steve

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 15-10-2007 , 01:35 AM
# 3 15-10-2007 , 02:57 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Hi this is helpful but I had already started modeling and was modeling the back, switching the front plain image for the back one. But this will be useful for the next model I make. Is there anyway to import image without maya resizing them.
Cheers
steve

# 4 15-10-2007 , 04:33 AM
Jay's Avatar
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,287
Maya resizes the images in a ratio over resolution kind of way. Its best to resize your images to a resonable size in PS first at 72dpi. Make sure that the files all match up on their appropriate planes. Use the PS layers forthis so you can adjust opacity to see the sizes match up


Once you load an image plane you can also manaully adjust the settings in the image plane attributes, height and width settings. Also you can move them in X, Y or Z. Its no big deal, my 10 year old daughter can do it.:bandit:

Jay

# 5 15-10-2007 , 05:13 AM
Perfecto's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,889
I've used import image plane a few times but since I haven't done much experimenting with that I just create a poly plane to match the pictures resolution. For example, if a picture has a 640x480 resolution then I'll create a poly plane that is either 6.4 x 4.8 or one that is 64 x 48, or even 32 x 24 (anything with the same ratio) Then, after I attach the picture, I do a planner map to make sure it's not stretched or anything. Works really great for me. I put each poly plane on a different layer so I can turn them on and off individually.


Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
# 6 15-10-2007 , 05:18 AM
Perfecto's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,889
Oh yea, if I want the image planes to match real world sizes, then after I create all my image planes, I group them all together. If the pictures are of a person that is 5 feet 11 inches tall, then I'll create a cube that is 5'11" tall and then I'll use the scale tool to enlarge my image planes (grouped) according to the cube.


Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads