SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Another Maya noob (image plane size help)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-10-2007, 12:48 AM   #1
SteveN_25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Another Maya noob (image plane size help)

Hello Im new to maya, love it, was using lightwave before but anyway heres my problem.
My problem conserns importing image planes. I would import the top and side without problems but the front view imported much larger. I found that the view>import would import the image to the same size as the viewport , thus making the front view larger because the front view is a square and the side and top are rectangles - hope you all know what I mean.

So my question is this, how can I import the images to their actual/default size. All my images are properly scaled my maya always imports the front image larger no matter what.

Iv attached a pic that hopefully explains what I mean a bit better.

cheers
steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya.jpg
Views:	2289
Size:	140.8 KB
ID:	36654  
SteveN_25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 01:35 AM   #2
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

heres a couple tuts that may help

http://www.the-blueprints.com/index.php?tutorials/maya/

(download)
http://www.hinst.net/~phalcon/mckinl...mageplanes.rar

__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 02:57 AM   #3
SteveN_25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi this is helpful but I had already started modeling and was modeling the back, switching the front plain image for the back one. But this will be useful for the next model I make. Is there anyway to import image without maya resizing them.
Cheers
steve
SteveN_25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 04:33 AM   #4
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Maya resizes the images in a ratio over resolution kind of way. Its best to resize your images to a resonable size in PS first at 72dpi. Make sure that the files all match up on their appropriate planes. Use the PS layers forthis so you can adjust opacity to see the sizes match up


Once you load an image plane you can also manaully adjust the settings in the image plane attributes, height and width settings. Also you can move them in X, Y or Z. Its no big deal, my 10 year old daughter can do it.:bandit:

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 05:13 AM   #5
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I've used import image plane a few times but since I haven't done much experimenting with that I just create a poly plane to match the pictures resolution. For example, if a picture has a 640x480 resolution then I'll create a poly plane that is either 6.4 x 4.8 or one that is 64 x 48, or even 32 x 24 (anything with the same ratio) Then, after I attach the picture, I do a planner map to make sure it's not stretched or anything. Works really great for me. I put each poly plane on a different layer so I can turn them on and off individually.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2007, 05:18 AM   #6
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Oh yea, if I want the image planes to match real world sizes, then after I create all my image planes, I group them all together. If the pictures are of a person that is 5 feet 11 inches tall, then I'll create a cube that is 5'11" tall and then I'll use the scale tool to enlarge my image planes (grouped) according to the cube.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 06:37 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 01:42 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 11:32 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.