Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-11-2007, 03:24 PM   #1
GhosTz
Registered User
 
GhosTz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fatal error

Everytime I try to select a certain an edge on one of the objects in my scene, Maya gets a "fatal error" and closes.

Every other object works fine. It's just one which cause Maya to crash if I try selecting a loop.

This might be relevant:
I had a relatively flat object, which I duplicated and moved a bit to the left. I bridged faces from each object to the middle to connect them, and then combined the two.
I then merged the vertices to actually make it one object.

That leaves me with a loop down the center, which is the one I'm trying to delete.
GhosTz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2007, 04:03 PM   #2
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dont know what could be the cause but since its a fairly easy object. throw it away and reconstruct it.

deleting the history is always a good point to start getting problems solve, too.
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2007, 04:24 PM   #3
GhosTz
Registered User
 
GhosTz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well I tried selecting the edge loop 'manually', but when I try deleting it, it says I can't delete border edges.
GhosTz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2007, 04:31 PM   #4
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so there are now two ways dealing with it.
1. merge vertices... this time really
2. if the error still occurs upload the file. ill take a look
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2007, 04:34 PM   #5
GhosTz
Registered User
 
GhosTz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got it. :o

I forgot to delete the faces inside the object which were the center of the edge loop I was trying to delete.

I deleted those, and now it's letting me delete the edge.

Thanks for your help though.
GhosTz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.