SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-12-2007, 10:07 PM   #1
djb123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Adding Audio

Hi all,

I'm trying to add audio to an animation, it is the right format and it seems to import fine, and even works in the playblast, but when I render to an AVI theres no sound, any ideas?

Thanks
Dave
djb123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2007, 10:32 PM   #2
Weyu
Registered User
 
Weyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I'm not that experienced with movie editing but I would probably add sound in a extern program like after effects. And Mayas AVI files are not perfect, make it into images like TGA for example then use another program to make the movie, I find it easier to control the fps this way to.

And welcome to Simplymaya.
Weyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 06:21 AM   #3
Altadena
Registered User
 
Altadena's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

export the movie with no sound as an AVI and add the sound in a program like After effects or Adobe Premiere along with the video
Altadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 08:54 AM   #4
djb123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies guys,

but am i alone in thinking its totally lame to have to add audio in an external program after forking out so much for Maya? There must be something I'm missing. I mean lip synching is going to be a nightmare.

Dave
djb123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 10:45 AM   #5
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

dont go with avi, its crap.

Batch render your your animation as targa files.

Then use videomach (very easy to use) to turn those targa files into either an avi or mpeg.

mike mckinley has a great tutorial on rendering, thats how i learnt.

http://www.simplymaya.com/movie_page...html?tut_id=49


As for the sound. (Assuming its all synched with what you need in maya).

You dont even need a complicated program like After Effects (unless of course you're good with AE). Just download any program. I have Ulead video editor AND after effects, and i STILL use Ulead if its just for sound,...purely because its so quick and simple.

So here you are...

step 1) Follow the great mike mckinleys tutorial
http://www.simplymaya.com/movie_page...html?tut_id=49

step 2) Use video mach, import your Targa files. (like i said very easy...follow Mike). When completed you will have a smooth video in either avi or mpeg.

Step 3) With ULead or any video editing program,..import both your sound AND your newly rendered video into it, and create a video file or render it out in that program or do whatever it requires to output the final version (vid and sound)

hope this helps

__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 11:03 AM   #6
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Im a little confused as to what you mean after readin your last post.

Heres what you do, very easy. You have your sound yes?
You can do this 2 ways.

Import it in the timeline or use the trax editor. i prefer the trax editor as u can move it accordingly.

Let me know exactly what you want to do, and i will explain in more detail, if not, some1 will


good luck

__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:27 PM   #7
djb123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi all I may be missing something very obvious but when i import sound to the timeline i can see the waveform but theres no sound when i playback, ive tried rendering it to an avi and playblasting it, but theres nothing there, its wav format so it should work any ideas?

P.S. I'm not ignoring the above advice but the reason i want to import the audio to maya is because I need to lip synch and it will be 100 times easier doing it in the program.
djb123 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.