SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / Movie problem - can't get it to work.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-12-2002, 06:58 PM   #1
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Movie problem - can't get it to work.

I have been trying to get a movie going in a Maya animation, but can't get it to work. I take my digital camera, shoot a film, hook it up to my computer, the Fuji software kicks in, then I save the movie. It saves as a Windows Media Player file. What I do then is create a poly plane, assign a movie texture to it, then upload the movie file. I play the animation, but get no movie; not even when I render it out. I'm thinking that maybe a Windows Media file isn't compatible with Maya. I have Quicktime, but don't know how to save it as that type. QT doesn't appear in the dropdown list when I go to save the movie.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 12:54 PM   #2
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hmm not sure about this one dude... maybe rage might be able to help when he sees this post
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 05:39 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Check your camera's docs for OUTPUT file types.

I've never heard of a consumer digital camera outputing to .wmv (Windows Media Video)
If it only outputs to .wmv (windows media) then you are right in that Maya will not understand it.

Otherwise, if it can output to .avi, that would be great, unless the codec that it uses is DV or something else.

If you can use a different codec, then that would be ideal.
If you can, mess around with some COMMON codecs like Sorenson, or Cinepak, and see if that helps.

Either way, without looking at the specs for your camera's output module, I have no way of helping ya bud.

Is there a website with specs for your camera AND software that I could look at maybe?

Thanks!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 07:26 PM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

http://www.fujifilm.com/JSP/fuji/epa...oduct=43860768

That's the camera. You see, when I hook the camera up to the computer, the software boots up. It shows all the images and movies that are currently on the data card in the camera. It displays images as JPG's and movies as AVI. When I save movies however, it saves them as Windows Media Video files. As said before, I can't save them as QT or any other format. It seems as though I should be able to save them as Quicktime, though because the installation software installed QT 5. Oh well.

EDIT - I just skimmed over the specs myself and saw what the Video Output was. NONE. I take it that's a bad thing?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com

Last edited by Darkware : 29-12-2002 at 07:31 PM.
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 07:49 PM   #5
Ian
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Here is a free video converter that might help, called STOIK:

http://www.stoik.com/downloads/downloads_frm.htm

Can convert WMV to AVI
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2002, 11:51 PM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

DAM! you beat me to the punch Ian! hehe...

I'm reading your camera's manual at the moment, but the specs state that the "movies" are captured using 10 fps, AVI (Motion JPEG) with sound.

The mjpg codec is how the camera captures your frames, but it is actually "output" via your usb connection to your computer.

You have 2 options:

1. Take Ian's advice, and get the .wmv to .avi converter.
(remember, Maya may have issues with audio if you are on XP, though I'm not sure on that)

or

2. Can you just drag the .avi file to your desktop from the software interface?
If so, then you should be fine.
Check the actual file extension of your movie once you import it into your computer. If it is .avi, then all you need to do is use that file.

I read both your manual, and the brochure, as well as checked the support area at Fuji for anything regarding the .avi to .wmv translation, and nothing came up. (figures

Don't know what else to tell ya man....

Sorry we couldn't be of more help.

Good luck!

BTW, fyi, if you look at the brochure pdf, ALL of the important camera data is listed there in case you want to do camera lens/focal length matching in maya from your stills and video footage

Just thought I's throw some more useless info at ya
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2002, 12:11 AM   #7
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

OK. I can click and drag the file right onto the desktop without any trouble. The icon that appears is a QT file that has AVI near the bottom. That all seems fine. I try to get it to work, but to my amazement, I still have the same problem. When I assign the movie texture and upload the file, the poly plane goes white. I play the animation, but nothing happens still. I go to around frame 20 and render, but get nothing. Maya "thinks" there is something there, though because it takes an unholy amount of time to render. Hmph. Under the properties of the newly created icon on my desktop, it states that it is a Microsoft Video file and opens with QT. *scratches his head* And there's nothing that says "AVI" save the icon itself. Anyway, we've at least gotten somewhere.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 05:22 AM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 04:04 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.