SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / zbrush and displacement maps.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2009, 06:52 PM   #1
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default zbrush and displacement maps.

ok - a quick question about zbrush and displacement maps. when i export a displacement map from zbrush - i use the displacement tab under my tool menu. i turn on adaptive, put dpres at 2048, intensity between 3-6, press mode and hit create displacement.

i open the tiff in ps, switch it to rgb and invert it vertically. in maya i make sure the imported objects feature displacement is turned off and i create displacement and subdivision stuff using the mr approximation editor. last i add a script on the displacement file's alpha offset telling it to be half of alpha gain.

ok, that seems to work fine and seems pretty easy once you get the hang of it. what i don't get, is that everyone seems to be using multi displacement 3 which seems like kind of a headache. what are the advantages of using multi displacement 3 - does it make better displacement maps?

thanks.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:31 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: zbrush and displacement maps.

Quote:
Originally posted by arran
ok - a quick question about zbrush and displacement maps. when i export a displacement map from zbrush - i use the displacement tab under my tool menu. i turn on adaptive, put dpres at 2048, intensity between 3-6, press mode and hit create displacement.

i open the tiff in ps, switch it to rgb and invert it vertically. in maya i make sure the imported objects feature displacement is turned off and i create displacement and subdivision stuff using the mr approximation editor. last i add a script on the displacement file's alpha offset telling it to be half of alpha gain.

ok, that seems to work fine and seems pretty easy once you get the hang of it. what i don't get, is that everyone seems to be using multi displacement 3 which seems like kind of a headache. what are the advantages of using multi displacement 3 - does it make better displacement maps?

thanks.
i think its best for higher rez disp
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:47 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Its used for Bit depth = 32 or 16. Plus there are different setups for different software in MD3.

J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 01:35 AM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

got you - thanks guys - i'll see if i can get my head around it then.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.