SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / invisible shader that will accept shadows
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-06-2009, 09:49 PM   #1
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default invisible shader that will accept shadows

I was wondering how to create a shader that will not render in mental ray, but can accept shadows, basically I want an object to drop a shadow on a transparent plane..that I can then use to composite later?
thanks
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2009, 10:48 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i guess you are using raytrace shadows? ...if you want to take out an alpha assign a surface shader with a black matte opacity.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2009, 11:15 PM   #3
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i think i already tried that? are you talking about the default surface shader node? just apply that, sorry can you elaborate im still learning
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 12:06 AM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

create a surface shader in the hypershade and then in the attributes of the shader is "matte opacity" drag it to black. this will render the object as black with no alpha channel. which is basically a silhouette. your shadows should have an alpha so you can comp them, so that should be that... i guess!

i think this is basically what you are trying, i have a shake script in this thread if it helps -> http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=31769
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 12:18 AM   #5
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes your looks GREAT! thats is what I am trying to do, I am testing out this motion tracking software and I want my cereal box to "appear" that is it sitting on the tile...so I need a way to fake a shadow or something...I tried what you said and this is what I got??? i must be doing something wrong
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 12:28 AM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

have you matched the lighting? it looks a little dark on the front of the box compared to the special k and diet coke boxes.

also... they are not casting shadows, so why do you want yours to? an occlusion might be enough.

i would also switch to depth map shadows. they are much faster to render out. cos you render them in maya software.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 12:36 AM   #7
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry that is a bad view, the special k actually has a lrarge shadow behind the flakes box, i have shadows turned on...but that black plane underneath is going to show nothing cause the shadows are black...Man I must be missing something I just want a transparent plane that does not render but is able to receive shadows??? I really appreciate the help
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 12:39 AM   #8
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

hypershade > use background > assign to plane

(make the plane bigger!)
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 12:49 AM   #9
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Great almost there now how do i get rid of the super glossy reflection ?
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 12:54 AM   #10
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

think i got it just adjusted the reflectivity and specular...how do i get a better anchor shadow?(underneath)
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 01:03 AM   #11
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

you want an ambient occlusion...

Quote:
Great almost there now
umm not quite...

you need to render all these elements as different layers and composite them in a compositing package. its the only way to correctly match the noise, shadows, lighting, colour etc etc

no one just renders it all out in a one-er. :p
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 01:07 AM   #12
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok guess its a little more than i am capable of at this point ,,
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 01:09 AM   #13
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

just do an ambient occlusion and multiply it over in photoshop then
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 01:10 AM   #14
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if it where for one frame yes that is a good idea...but this is motion tracking fom PfTrack
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 01:15 AM   #15
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i really appreciate all your help regardless.
__________________
Bradysammons.com
New Media Designer
Student: Academy of Art University S.F.
My WIP
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.