Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 27-03-2010 , 02:14 AM
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
rm3d
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184

rigid body dynamics question

hey guys a quick question. i have a snooker tabe, which i created from polygon cube, then extruded in the edges and extruded down to create the middle playing surface. my problem is when i create a passive body on the snooker tabel and the balls active bodies, they pass through the middle playing surface but not the actual bottom of the table?? i dont know why this is happening does any of you guys know??


the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
# 2 27-03-2010 , 04:29 AM
G-Man's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
check your normals, rigid body simulations are calculated based on normal direction, you're normals will need to be pointing out of the surface in the direction you want the collision to take place.

I.E. if you have a sphere that will bounce off of a plane, it will only bounce off of it on the side of the face that the normal is pointing out of. else, it will pass through it.
that would be my first guess

the other possibility is that the collision layers are different.
your active bodies might be on layer 1, and your passive bodies on layer 2, this would cause them not to collide at all, though they woudl pass through the table completely not in the way you describe.

another thing, did you delete all history before you set the dynamics up? maya hates history on dynamic simulations.

G-man


Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
# 3 27-03-2010 , 02:41 PM
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
rm3d
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184
thanks g-man i never thought of the normals i shall give it a go, and make sure histroy etc is deleted user added image


the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
# 4 27-03-2010 , 07:53 PM
G-Man's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
No problem mate, if it doesnt work let me know. i might see if you can upload your scene file and i'll take a look at it for you.

g-man


Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads