Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 19-08-2014 , 09:24 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3

UV disappears after mesh>combine

Hello, I have this model that I finished and UV mapped. I did it all separately and now want to combine into one mesh. When I do combine it seams that the first object clicked loses its UV map and texture. Any ideas on what is going on?

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 19-08-2014 , 10:47 PM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
I think this is to do with UV sets, try renaming the UV sets to the same name before you combine..............dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 3 20-08-2014 , 08:46 PM
Skalman's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 293
try deleting history, or duplicate the model, combine it (and expect the uv's to mess up on one model), then transfer uv's from the duplicated one to the combined.. thats all i can think of, also try what dave said


20 year old guy from Sweden



Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman


https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
# 4 22-08-2014 , 12:07 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Thank you guys for the help, unfortunately those options didn't work. What I found out though is by looking into the UV sets, for some reason the objects that were losing their UV's they had a map1 and a map11 on them. The ones that kept their maps just had map1. I don't know why this was creating such an issue, but when I tried to rename them all the same, the one that just had map1, I named it to mach the others and then it completely lost the UV, I couldn't even undo and get it back. So I don't know what happened, I know now that I need to finalize my object, then combine it, and then UV map it.

# 5 22-08-2014 , 06:34 PM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Just try this, create two cube then auto map them and combine the meshes you should see both UVs when you select the mesh, the problem is caused when you name the UVs.................dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 6 21-12-2018 , 09:47 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1

solution

Hello, I have this model that I finished and UV mapped. I did it all separately and now want to combine into one mesh. When I do combine it seams that the first object clicked loses its UV map and texture. Any ideas on what is going on?

user added image
After making the UV mapping of one portion, delete history and goto

Edit->Duplicate Special option box
Geometry type : Copy
Group under : Parent
Scale: on required axis type -1

Turn on : Assign unique name to child nodes

Click Duplicate special

Now combine them & check : Its done!!!!

# 7 21-12-2018 , 05:35 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
I was having the same problem. None of the above mentioned methods solved my problem. What did work though was exporting the uncombined pieces as .obj, then importing it again into maya and then combining it.
user added image

# 8 26-06-2019 , 02:44 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2

Uv set editor

I had the same issue before, here's the solution I figured out.

1. Go to UV > UV set Editor.
2. Rename "all the object's you want to combine" to the "same" name. (select the object one by one and Rename all to the same name.)
3. Combine all the object, should be good to go!

So the trick is sometimes( no idea why) Maya create a different Uv set, so when you combined it, it will show in different sets. So it's not disappear, just in different Sets.

Hope that works for you! user added image

user added image

# 9 28-06-2019 , 02:15 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Great guide, kazeal! What if I can't do the #3 point?

# 10 01-07-2019 , 04:36 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
Hi, do you mean that you can't combine the objects?
If so, try to delete history (Edit > Delete by Type > History), or you can click on the option of combine, and try out different settings.
user added image
user added image

# 11 13-08-2019 , 11:16 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1

Here's what worked for me

Hi.
I had a similar problem, not sure if it's the exact same though, these issues vary too much.
Anyway, I had two objects with two different UV sets, and I simply wanted to combine the two meshes with the UVs intact.
When I did, one of the sets would always disappear, which one depending on smaller circumstances.

I tried exporting them to .obj and all methods alike, and nothing worked. It wasn't until I selected all the UV-verts of both objects simultaneously, going into the UV editor, and hitting Polygons-Merge UVs, and THEN combining the two objects that it actually worked - but it really did.
Hope this helps you, and in any case, other people in a situation like myself, in fact I registered here just to make this one attempt of contribution with my experience.
Live strong!

# 12 14-11-2019 , 08:42 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
thanks a lot! this worked to me too!

# 13 14-11-2019 , 08:43 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2

I had the same issue before, here's the solution I figured out.

1. Go to UV > UV set Editor.
2. Rename "all the object's you want to combine" to the "same" name. (select the object one by one and Rename all to the same name.)
3. Combine all the object, should be good to go!

So the trick is sometimes( no idea why) Maya create a different Uv set, so when you combined it, it will show in different sets. So it's not disappear, just in different Sets.

Hope that works for you! user added image

Attachment 57746

thanks a lot! this worked to me too!

# 14 19-02-2020 , 01:06 PM
suraj's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Use the UV set editor to go to the non default UV set. Select all polygons on that UV set, right click and go down the menu to UV Sets>'Copy UVs to UV Set' to send them to your default UV set. Do that for all your extra sets until everything is on your default set and then you can delete the extra ones in the UV set editor.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads