SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / maya crashed. help plz!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-08-2012, 10:50 PM   #1
PeacockBlue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default maya crashed. help plz!

I was modeling motorbike
As I almost finish the modeling and started to work on detail part of element.
Maya was crashed ( and there is screen that show “maya application file has stopped working”)
Every time I try to reopen the file
Maya application would crash with this notice as I was switching view point or used polygon’s tool in that file.
But this situation only happened in that motorbike scene
and this is most complex and big scene I ever made so far

ps: I only use polygon in this scene and didn’t do rendering yet.

Here is my information of my computer:

Maya 32bit
Windows 7 32bit
RAM: 6.00GB
Intel(R) Core™ i7 CPU
ATIRadeom HD5970

Can anyone help?
Thank!
PeacockBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 11:09 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Can you open this file if so open it and export your mesh as object file the reimport into a new maya file...............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 11:48 PM   #3
PeacockBlue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daverave View Post
Can you open this file if so open it and export your mesh as object file the reimport into a new maya file...............dave
Thank for replying me so fast
Yeah I tried the way u provides.
The mesh exported to other Maya file successfully.
But application was still crashed by I switching view point in the new file.


Is any other way I can try?

Thank!
PeacockBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 01:37 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

If you saved it as an .ma file and you have an idea of what you did to make Maya crash then you could open it in a text editor and chop out the bad info.

On a side note, why use a 32bit OS and Maya on that kind of hardware? :s
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 01:50 AM   #5
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yeah, it's possible you're not able to use all your RAM and as a result are running out of memory? Can you see the mem usage when you open up the file? Is there anything else that the error message says?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 04:19 AM   #6
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

It really should not matter if he is using 32 or 64 bit versions of the os and the software. With his system 64-bit would make more sense but maya should keep a valid version of the scene file at all times and worst case you should end up with some changes not updated. I use half a dozen 3D modeling packages and ONLY maya corrupts scene files!

I am constantly plagued with "error parsing data line 762" when I open scenes and the scene opens in wireframe with the grid settings and other preference settings scrambled.

For over a year I have been bitching about Maya's lack of stability when deleting history, and saving files, and preferences and scene files becoming corrupted. For almost as long I have listened to people use the "I have used maya for x years and it's working fine for me" defense. I got tired of it and have captured several stack dumps and spent over 3 hours with an engineer that has confirmed every single problem I have been reporting since maya 2010!

His answer was we know it's happening. We know it's happening on what we consider small subset of systems. We know it is a hardware or software conflict but it's not a priority and there are no solutions at this time!

So I just model more and more in modo. I would switch to max but I refuse to invest any time in learning any autodesk products!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 05:02 AM   #7
PeacockBlue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank both of you!

For GecT
I change the maya file to the .ma file

and I just installed a Notepad text editor from internet

But I am not familiar with text editor

I still kind of try to figure out how to see the bad info by using text editor


For stwert
Yeah it is possible. Would problem of ram caused by window7 32bit?

“maya application file has stopped working” is as far as error message I saw so far

I still try to find the way to acquire the message by opening up the file as u mention.

Thank all
PeacockBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 05:08 AM   #8
PeacockBlue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctbram View Post
It really should not matter if he is using 32 or 64 bit versions of the os and the software. With his system 64-bit would make more sense but maya should keep a valid version of the scene file at all times and worst case you should end up with some changes not updated. I use half a dozen 3D modeling packages and ONLY maya corrupts scene files!

I am constantly plagued with "error parsing data line 762" when I open scenes and the scene opens in wireframe with the grid settings and other preference settings scrambled.

For over a year I have been bitching about Maya's lack of stability when deleting history, and saving files, and preferences and scene files becoming corrupted. For almost as long I have listened to people use the "I have used maya for x years and it's working fine for me" defense. I got tired of it and have captured several stack dumps and spent over 3 hours with an engineer that has confirmed every single problem I have been reporting since maya 2010!

His answer was we know it's happening. We know it's happening on what we consider small subset of systems. We know it is a hardware or software conflict but it's not a priority and there are no solutions at this time!

So I just model more and more in modo. I would switch to max but I refuse to invest any time in learning any autodesk products!
thank for the information! I should more consider about what you said
PeacockBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2012, 07:58 AM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

You can try out jEdit and you can get the mel syntax highlighting on CreativeCrash, I think its worth the setup because you're probably going to have to do this again or maybe you'll get into scripting.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP PLEASE Dushyant Technical Issues 12 25-08-2012 08:49 AM
Maya Dynamic, Float object Problem. Help plz dubai3d Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 06-07-2012 02:41 PM
Installation issue Munsford Technical Issues 2 11-11-2011 02:57 PM
World of Eden Online - Recruiting Maya Artists DragonRIft Members Lounge 17 20-09-2011 08:14 AM
Rendering Problem NoxRequiem Lighting & Rendering 6 01-04-2011 09:39 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.